Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

U-Boat Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacking Mulitple Targets rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Walter Gagajewski
United States
Broken Arrow
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I finished my first 1-patrol campaign with UBL and had a quick question about attacks. On a given turn, can a U-Boat attack any number of targets in any number of spaces with both torpedoes (All that are ready) and make one gun attack? It seemed like this would be allowed but I didn't see it specifically in the rules. After playing Hornet Leader and TAL, this would be a change from the targeting rules from those games.

In my campaign, I ran out of torpedoes on my two subs pretty quick and ended up with only an adequate rating so I am looking forward to trying again and figuring out how to make the most effective use of my weapons in a short campaign.

Thanks for the help,
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Megee
United States
Edgewater Park
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is this what you are looking for? Page 17:

U-Boat Torpedo Attacks
Submerged or Surfaced U-Boats can perform
Torpedo attacks out to a range of 3 Areas.
When you are ready to attack with Torpedoes,
specify the number of Torpedoes fired at each target. You
can only fire Torpedoes that are in the Ready section on the
U-Boat card. Torpedo attacks are resolved after all attacks
are declared.


As for the "Gun Attack" then as long as you are on the surface, you can use that Gun Attack too. Page 19:

Alerted
Place an Alerted counter on the Tactical Display if
a U-Boat performs 1 or more attacks of any type
during its turn.
Each Alerted counter improves the Escort’s range and die
rolls to Detect U-Boats by 1. Escorts can only attack
Detected U-Boats.
Example: A U-Boat attacks several Ships with Torpedoes and one
Ship with a Gun attack. Place 1 Altered counter on the Display.


Hope this confirms what you were looking for!

Jim
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walter Gagajewski
United States
Broken Arrow
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The one thing the rules don't spell out is whether I can shoot at multiple targets in different spaces or do all the targets have to be in the same space on the tactical map?

For example, I can fire at all four merchants at the same time in the four different spaces in the center of the board?

I just found it odd that I could shoot in all four directions (N, S, E, W) at the same time with no impact to accuracy to any target.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.