Remo Galvan
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Can cards like "Il Piccolo Soccorso" or "Foreign Volunteers" be used to add regulars units in spaces were it is normally forbidden, like Ottomans units in Algiers, Djerba/Tripoli or Spain units in Oran, Malta, Netherlands ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel K
United States
Minnetrista
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. In the case of Foreign Volunteers, this is explicitly addressed in the Card FAQ (page 30 of the Scenario Book).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Forster
United States
Pleasant Prairie
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Hey! Institute THIS!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JoelCFC25 wrote:
Yes. In the case of Foreign Volunteers, this is explicitly addressed in the Card FAQ (page 30 of the Scenario Book).


...and "no" in all other cases when it's not explicitly addressed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven
United States
Spokane
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
"The mystery of life isn't a problem to solve, but a reality to experience"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Greg Forster wrote:
JoelCFC25 wrote:
Yes. In the case of Foreign Volunteers, this is explicitly addressed in the Card FAQ (page 30 of the Scenario Book).


...and "no" in all other cases when it's not explicitly addressed.


Check out scenario book page 23:

Quote:
For 25 years, ever since the Battle of Preveza in 1538, Ottoman
domination of the Mediterranean Sea had been a fact of life. With
Piyale Pasha’s sack of the Balaeric Islands (1558) and victory over
the Christian fleet at Djerba (1560), only the outpost of the Knights
of St. John on Malta
remains to slow Piyale and his corsair ally
Dragut. On May 18, 1565 an Ottoman armada of 131 galleys,
seven galliots and four galleasses arrive on Malta and disembark
nearly 30,000 men. The Knights and their allies are outnumbered
by a factor of 5 to 1. But the Knights had faced similar odds on
Rhodes in 1522 and they are determined to prevail again. A desperate
stand at Fort St. Elmo costs the Ottomans 6000 Janissanies and
Dragut, who is mortally wounded by cannon fire during the assault.
Bolstered first by a small relief force, “Il Picc olo Socc orso,”
and later by the Spanish Grand Soccorso,
the Ottoman are finally
forced to withdraw. After suffering through this bloody siege, the
Ottomans will not attempt to capture Malta again.


Considering that this very card was named after a relief force saving Malta, I would hope that it should be able to be used in any of the spaces the OP brought up.

Remember also that cards can break the rules, if the conditions can be met. This probably could still use a ruling by Ed for clarity, but I would argue that it can be used in any space under siege with only three or less defending units (with the power playing the card controlling the space), even if their regulars could not typcially be built there.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zack S.
United States
Honolulu
Hawaii
flag msg tools
mbmb
SW_Cygnus wrote:
Remember also that cards can break the rules, if the conditions can be met. This probably could still use a ruling by Ed for clarity, but I would argue that it can be used in any space under siege with only three or less defending units (with the power playing the card controlling the space), even if their regulars could not typcially be built there.

You don't even have to be the player controlling the space, which if the prohibition remains in place would lead to the weird situation where any power BUT the Spanish could use it on a Spanish-controlled Malta.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
rgalvan wrote:
Can cards like "Il Piccolo Soccorso" or "Foreign Volunteers" be used to add regulars units in spaces were it is normally forbidden, like Ottomans units in Algiers, Djerba/Tripoli or Spain units in Oran, Malta, Netherlands ?


Yes these plays are legal.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.