Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules Verification Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lito Carmona
United States
Burlington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
I play board games with brussel sprouts balanced on my head... in Brussels!
badge
I respond to ALL trade requests.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question regarding Event Cards played for Operations points.

The rules say: If a card with a * after its title is played as an Event, it is removed from the game.

What if you play a card for its Operations points, but the card's event is associated with your opponent. According to the rules, the Event still occurs.

So the question should be obvious... You played the card for the Operations points (not as an Event), but given the text of the card, the Event still occurs. Does the rule now apply for removing the card from the game since the Event occurs, or does it just get put into the discard pile because the card was technically played for Operations points?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawcomic
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
The stuff that dreams are made of...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is still played as an event, albeit on behalf of your opponent.

It is out of the game.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul M
United States
Elkhart
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You played the card for OPS. Your opponent played the same card "as an event". It goes to the discard pile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan McCauley
United States
Mountville (Lancaster County)
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is covered in the rulebook:

5.2 Events Associated With Your Opponent: If a player plays a card as an Operation, and the card’s Event is associated only with his opponent, the Event still occurs (and the card, if it has an asterisk after the Event title, is removed). NOTE: When playing a card for operations and it triggers your opponent’s event, your opponent implements the event text as if they had played the card themselves.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lito Carmona
United States
Burlington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
I play board games with brussel sprouts balanced on my head... in Brussels!
badge
I respond to ALL trade requests.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. I must have missed the clarification in the rulebook.

But since I have you, how about a follow-up question:

There are cards that are underlined and have an * on them. So how can they be removed from the game if underlined cards are to remain in play until another card removes them.

Does the text really only mean that they are removed from the deck (ie can't be reshuffled in)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan McCauley
United States
Mountville (Lancaster County)
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The effect stays in play once the event is triggered, unless canceled.

7.3 Permanent Events: Some Event cards have an underlined
title, e.g. Flower Power. This indicates that the effects of these
Events last for the duration of the game. When such cards are
played as Events, place them to the side of the map, or place
their markers on the Turn Track, as a reminder of their ongoing
effects.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lito Carmona
United States
Burlington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
I play board games with brussel sprouts balanced on my head... in Brussels!
badge
I respond to ALL trade requests.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
IrishRenegade wrote:
The effect stays in play once the event is triggered, unless canceled.

7.3 Permanent Events: Some Event cards have an underlined
title, e.g. Flower Power. This indicates that the effects of these
Events last for the duration of the game. When such cards are
played as Events, place them to the side of the map, or place
their markers on the Turn Track, as a reminder of their ongoing
effects.


Right. I do remember reading that. It is just when I see the phrase "remove from play" or "remove from game" that I think... That card can no longer have any influence on the game.

But apparently, that is wrong. The effect lasts (unless another effect removes it), it just isn't reshuffled.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Bloggs
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, "remove from play" in this context means that the card is removed. Not the effects of the card.

Sometimes it can be hard to remember all of the cards that will be in effect permanently, even with the little chits as a reminder. I suggest placing the cards on a blank spot of the game board while they're still active to remind yourself that they're active and to reread their text.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Garbett
United States
Nashville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Will Provide Statistics for Data
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The description of this game really needs to link to a FAQ.

This question, and the question about event execution occur so often here.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.