Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas Johnson
United States
Howey-in-the-Hills
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am very new to Dominion (a friend has the original game without any expansions). I just found out about the base set today. I see that one may buy Hinterlands or Prosperity in addition to the new base card expansion and have a playable game without having purchased the original game.

Is this true for ANY of the expansions? Alchemy? Cornucopia? The upcoming Dark Ages?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garrett Thurlow
United States
North Dakota
flag msg tools
Yes. You can buy the base card expansion and any card set and still be able to play a game of Dominion.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Broox
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmb
GenWashingMachine wrote:
I am very new to Dominion (a friend has the original game without any expansions). I just found out about the base set today. I see that one may buy Hinterlands or Prosperity in addition to the new base card expansion and have a playable game without having purchased the original game.

Is this true for ANY of the expansions? Alchemy? Cornucopia? The upcoming Dark Ages?

The only thing you won't have would be the basic rules and those can be found online.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberta Yang
msg tools
It's technically true for any expansion, but I wouldn't recommend doing it for Alchemy or Cornucopia - the game would stale if you only had 13 Kingdoms and used 10 of them each game.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ido Abelman
Israel
Hod Hasharon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This wouldn't work very well with Alchemy. 8-10 potion costers can be fun once but it doesn't really work well. I wouldn't recommend corncutopia either.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Smith
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
GenWashingMachine wrote: