Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

D-Day Dice» Forums » Rules

Subject: Silver Star rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Terry Simo
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you still go through all the effects of the first sector moved into with Silver Star Award?

Example: First sector moved into has Landmines and 12 Shield and MGF. Do you resolve all three of these when moving in with Silver Star and then move on to Second and final sector and resolve all the effects or do you skip through the first sector except for paying any Courage requirements?

Thanks.

T-Mo
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
The DEF (Shield) and MGF are applied in Phase 5 (Combat). Movement is Phase 4. So when moving twice via the Silver Star, you encounter all the costs that would be associated with movement.

In your example, you encounter the landmines and the Courage cost for the first sector. Then pay the courage (and possibly additional landmines) moving into the second sector.

When movement is finished, you proceed to Phase 5 (Combat) and resolve just the shield (and possible MGF) in the second sector.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Terry Simo
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Excellent. So if that first sector also had a requirement to lose a specialist to move in then that would happen then you would move to second sector.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Yep...all movements costs are paid (unless you use a Battle Cry RWB to avoid them)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Janiec
United States
(Teller County)
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
But the rules on conflicts and ties say Awards are first priority and overrule everything else. Since the Silver Star text reads, "(it must spend Courage if it Advances)," apparently you cannot use Battle Cry to get two "free" Advances.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tucker Taylor
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Is your score positive? You win! (Some players win more than others.)
badge
A woman needs a man like a fish needs a saxophone.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chris Janiec wrote:
But the rules on conflicts and ties say Awards are first priority and overrule everything else. Since the Silver Star text reads, "(it must spend Courage if it Advances)," apparently you cannot use Battle Cry to get two "free" Advances.

You might think that, but no. Silver Star with Whistle or Battle Cry
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Janiec
United States
(Teller County)
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Heretic that I am, I just found and questioned the validity of that ruling. If, as Rik stated, "It's a timing thing," then Battle Cry occurs before you play Silver Star, and you still have to pay the Courage to Advance.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.