Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Oath of Honor - Target rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Leo P
msg tools
Hi dear BGG users,

yesterday we've had a discussion about the targeting of ooh. If there's more then one enemy adjacent to the friendly target can the player decides which one he wants to attack or does it have to be the nearest enemy?

Thanks,

Soleond
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
zoran
United Kingdom
London
Middlesex
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe that ooh targets the g-spot ;-).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leo P
msg tools
Ok... point taken... I'm going to take care of that during the next "match" with my gf... I hope this wasn't the last reply...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Igor Pushkar
Estonia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Only restrictions on card I found is that you have to choose closest empty space adjacent to that monster. If there is more than one monster adjacent to hero within 3 spaces of hero with ooh I believe you can choose any monster among them, move to it and attack. And second restriction is that your attack have to be made against chosen monster.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leo P
msg tools
Ok, that's what I've thought... but does that mean that I could use it to "teleport" behind a large monster in a narrow (2 spaces wide) tile?

YOOXHHHOO
OOOXHHHOO

OOOXHHHYO
OOOXHHHOO

Y = knight with ooh
X = other hero
H = shadow dragon
O = empty space

Soleond
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom H
Australia
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Clearly the knight can only back-flip over a Dragon if her allies make a human pyramid to climb and jump off.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Igor Pushkar
Estonia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Soleond wrote:
Ok, that's what I've thought... but does that mean that I could use it to "teleport" behind a large monster in a narrow (2 spaces wide) tile?

YOOXHHHOO
OOOXHHHOO

OOOXHHHYO
OOOXHHHOO

Y = knight with ooh
X = other hero
H = shadow dragon
O = empty space

Soleond


As for me it is completely legal
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Burigo
Italy
Belluno
flag msg tools
designer
badge
“Don't try the paranormal until you know what's normal.” - Granny Weatherwax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This actually happened a lot during our First Blood yesterday.
We assumed it was legal because of the wording (place) used by the skill card.
Of course this grants a lot of mobility to a knight and can easily set up flanking position. A menace the Overlord must reckon with.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Triu Greykith
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Soleond wrote:
Y = knight with ooh
X = other hero
H = shadow dragon
O = empty space

A = goblin archer

YAHHHOO
OXHHHOO


I think this is a better diagram. Just remember to shout "Yahhhoo!" while doing a wire fu leap over the dragon.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Summer
Germany
flag msg tools
Another question and example

Y=knight with ooh
X=other hero
B=Barghest
_=empty space

Y_BH_
__B__

Quote:
Oath of honor: Choose another hero within 3 spaces of you who has a monster adjacent to him. Place your hero figure in the closest empty space adjacent to the monster and perform...


Can the knight teleport behind the Barghest ?
Is it
a) the closest empty space from the knight to the monster or
b) the closest empty space from the selectet hero to the monster
or can the knight choose ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
carsten1977 wrote:
Another question and example

Y=knight with ooh
X=other hero
B=Barghest
_=empty space

Y_BH_
__B__

Quote:
Oath of honor: Choose another hero within 3 spaces of you who has a monster adjacent to him. Place your hero figure in the closest empty space adjacent to the monster and perform...


Can the knight teleport behind the Barghest ?
Is it
a) the closest empty space from the knight to the monster or
b) the closest empty space from the selectet hero to the monster
or can the knight choose ?


It's "a" - closest empty space to you, the knight, the one performing the action. In your drawn scenario, you would teleport to either space in front of the barghest, not behind it. However, if it looked like:

YHBH
_HB_

or

YHB_
_HB_
you would teleport behind the barghest.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.