Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim K
United States
Palatine
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I just finished reading the rules and I'll start my first play probably this weekend. 1989 didn't grab my attention during development, but I'm looking forward to it. Students, elites, intellectuals, and power struggles provide interesting twists on a game that otherwise appears to be much like Twilight Struggle.

Anyway, most of the mapboard locations are in Polish, German, Romanian, and other central and eastern European languages. I thought it would be fun to develop a pronunciation guide.

I'll get it started. I studied German for three years in high school. I'm also 3/4 Polish and 1/4 Slovak, and I know how to pronounce a lot of Polish words. Since some Slavic languages are similar, I'll take a stab at a few other words. Of course, BGG's German, Polish, and other native speakers are encouraged to correct me in the likelihood I make a few mistakes. (Please be gentle; one reason I'm creating this list is to see if my language pronunciations are accurate.) It would also be great if Magyar, Romanian, Bulgarian, Czech, and Slovak speakers helped complete the guide.

East Germany
Schwerin - SHVAIR-in
Berlin - bare-LEEN
Walter Ulbricht - VAHL-ter UL-brickt (note the German "hard c" sound is more in the back of one's throat)
Magdeburg - MOG-duh-boorg (like oo in "too")
Halle - HOLL-uh
Leipzig - LIPE-tsig
Efrurt - AIR-foort
Stadt - Shtot
Dresden - DRAYS-din (with a gutteral German "r")

Poland
Szczecin - SHTCHET-sin
Gdansk - g-DINSK (long i as in "dine")
Bydgoszcz - bid-GOSHTCH
Poznan - POSE-nin
Warszawa - var-SHAHV-ah
Bialystok - bee-AH-wi-stock
Wroclaw - VROTS-wov
Lodz - wooj (oo as in book)
Katowice - kat-oh-VEETS-uh
Krakow - KRA-kov
Lublin - LOOB-lin (oo as in book)
Jagiellonian - yog-ee-el-OWN-ee-en

Czechoslovakia
Ostrava - aw-STRAHV-ah
Bratislava - brot-i-SLAHV-ah

Hungary
Debrecen - deb-RETS-in
Szeged - SHEH-ged