Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

War of the Ring (First Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dramatic Ending - Did We Do It Right? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Siskin
United States
Playa Del Rey
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, here's the situation...

- The ring bearers are in the penultimate space on the Mordor Track
- The Companions are all gone and Gollum is their Guide
- Corruption is at 7
- There are a total of 5 dice in the Hunt Box

The Free Peoples play a Character Die to move the ring bearers to the Crack of Doom. A Hunt Tile is drawn and reveals an Eye, which causes 5 more Corruption (one for each die in the Hunt Box). Gollum then uses his Guide ability to reveal the fellowship, thus reducing the Hunt Damage by one, so they end up revealed in the Crack of Doom with 11 Corruption.

The Free Peoples win!


Did I get it right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay P

Alexandria
Virginia
msg tools
Not correct.
Eye tile reveals.
Gollum can't reduce.

That said, how did the five dice make it into the hunt box?
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Siskin
United States
Playa Del Rey
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Shadow player allocated 1 die because FP used one the previous turn and then rolled two Eyes. In addition, FP used two Character Dice during that turn already, so 5 dice in the Hunt Box.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralf Schemmann
Germany
Siegen
NRW
flag msg tools
www.der-ringkrieg.de
badge
www.der-ringkrieg.de
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, Jay has it right, it would have been a win for the Shadow.

Gollum can only use his "reveal to reduce damage by 1" ability if the Fellowship was hidden.

His "reveal icons don't count" ability doesn't work on eye tiles, so the Fellowship already got revealed.

So it would have been 5 points of corruption, bringing Fellowship to 12 corruption, and making it a win for the Shadow.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Siskin
United States
Playa Del Rey
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Fellowship WAS hidden (or it couldn't have moved).

So, when can Gollum use his Guide ability if not to counter a revealed Eye token? Just in response to card play or tokens with numbers?

Does the Eye token automatically reveal the fellowship? It did not have a reveal icon on the tile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralf Schemmann
Germany
Siegen
NRW
flag msg tools
www.der-ringkrieg.de
badge
www.der-ringkrieg.de
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Uhmm... are you confusing standard numbered hunt tiles (with a number on them) and eye tiles (showing an eye)?

All eye tiles have a reveal icon on them (below the eye), and some but not all numbered tiles have it too.

Gollum's guide ability works only against numbered tiles with a reveal icon.

EDIT: See Krieghund's next post. I could have been a little clearer.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Uthoroc wrote:
Gollum's guide ability works only against numbered tiles with a reveal icon.

To be clear, Gollum's ability to ignore reveal icons only works against Standard numbered tiles - not Eyes or Shadow Special tiles.

His ability to reveal the Fellowship to reduce Hunt Damage by 1 works against any tile that doesn't reveal the Fellowship. This includes Shadow Special tiles without a reveal icon as well as Standard numbered tiles, whether or not they have a reveal icon (the reveal icon having been cancelled by his aforementioned ability).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Siskin
United States
Playa Del Rey
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I understand now. All Hunt Tokens with an Eye have reveal icons at the bottom which cancels Gollum's ability to use his reveal ability that would have reduced the Hunt damage by one.

In other words, the ring bearers led by Gollum approached the Crack of Doom, intent on destroying the One Ring, but as they draw near, Frodo is overcome by his desire for the Ring. Gollum senses this and tries desperately gain favor with Sauron by revealing the location of the ring bearers, but he is too late! Frodo, mere yards from the firey pit, no longer can control himself and slips the Ring on his finger, becoming its slave once and for all!

Shadow wins!


Thanks a lot folks. This was hard for us to work out on our own.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay P

Alexandria
Virginia
msg tools
dumpty wrote:
I understand now. All Hunt Tokens with an Eye have reveal icons at the bottom which cancels Gollum's ability to use his reveal ability that would have reduced the Hunt damage by one.


Correct.

And if we wish to be literal, the eye reveal does not "cancel" Gollum's ability to reveal and reduce damage. Rather it just creates a game state (FSP revealed) where the condition for use of Gollum's ability (FSP not revealed) no longer exists.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.