Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Leoric of the Book's Heroic Feat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Isaac Ashdown
msg tools
Wondering how this one really works, as it seems a tad ambiguous. Either:

1) The character makes a magic attack as normal, and so can target any normal square - but ignores range. This attack then also affects any figures adjacent as well.

2) The character makes a magic attack, but instead of choosing a target in the normal way, all adjacent figures are the target.

It seems that 2) is the most logical reading of the ability - but then why does it say the attack ignores range? Why would range be relevant for an adjacent attack?

So as a result, we houseruled it it like 1), right at the beginning of the game, before it was used. But then Leoric targetted an adjacent figure (Splig), so first he made the usual attack, but then all adjacent figures were hit too, including Splig for a second time! That doesn't seem right.

Opinions?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew loses (again)
Malta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's simply a magic attack that attacks all adjacent figures. The directive to ignore range is rather redundant, but means there's one less variable to account for.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Von Penguin
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
One possible reason is that it is unlikely, but entirely possible for Leoric to roll below the minimum required range on an adjacent attack. Granted such an event will only ever happen if using the conversion kit and a monster with the "stealthy" trait which adds +3 to the range needed, so 4 for something that's right in your face. It can happen. Sometimes. Better to add that line and be safe I guess.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Barrett
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Another clarification - Does it affect allies as well as enemies? The card reads like all adjacent figures.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonardo Prunk
Brazil
Brasília
DF
flag msg tools
"Men of broader intellect know that there is no sharp distinction betwixt the real and the unreal"
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
oryx11 wrote:
Another clarification - Does it affect allies as well as enemies? The card reads like all adjacent figures.


I think it affects all figures as it's written, just like the Blast effect does.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.