Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

From Overlord to Berlin» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions after first play. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Graham Lockwood
Australia
Blacktown
NSW
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. The Rules state that the German 10th army (in Italy at start) is not reduced. However, the German Aid display shows that same army and their start position (zone 9) in brackets, meaning that this army sets up reduced. Which is correct?

2. The victory rules state this for the Allied side at the end of the 7th game turn:
'The Western Allies occupy or at least contest all the zones containing blue targets'
'The Soviets occupy or at least contest all zones containing black and red targets'

This is an impossibility as there are 16 red zones and 19 black zones making a total of 35 in all for the Soviets and 12 blue zones for the Western Allies. As there are only 10 Soviet and 9 Western Allied Grand Formations in the game, how is this achieved?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Taylor
United States
under surveillance
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I want to know the answers to these questions as well.

My thought is that maybe the word "occupy" is not the best choice of translations and that the word "control" might be more what the designers intended...

But who knows?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Lockwood
Australia
Blacktown
NSW
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've just sent an email to Luc regarding this subject. Lets hope he checks his 'geekmail regularly!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Raspler
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There have been some good questions posted on this game... it's too bad the designer is silent. The game itself has a lot going for it, but the shortness of the rules leave room for confusion.
promuso wrote:
1. The Rules state that the German 10th army (in Italy at start) is not reduced. However, the German Aid display shows that same army and their start position (zone 9) in brackets, meaning that this army sets up reduced. Which is correct?

We didn't notice the [zone 9] brackets for the German 10th army -- maybe it should be reduced.

promuso wrote:
2. The victory rules state this for the Allied side at the end of the 7th game turn:
'The Western Allies occupy or at least contest all the zones containing blue targets'
'The Soviets occupy or at least contest all zones containing black and red targets'

This is an impossibility as there are 16 red zones and 19 black zones making a total of 35 in all for the Soviets and 12 blue zones for the Western Allies. As there are only 10 Soviet and 9 Western Allied Grand Formations in the game, how is this achieved?

We interpreted the victory condition to mean that the Allies have to have been the last to pass through the territory in question -- not that they had to physically occupy the entire map at the end of turn 7.

Still, it is a monumental task, which seems beyond the ability of the Allies despite smart play. We cam up with a number of house rules which we feel balance the game a bit better. I'll post those in a separate thread.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.