Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Battle of the Atlantic (1942)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Visually tracking Subs once identified rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick Watson
msg tools
mbmb
First of all, I would like to say that this is just the game I have been looking for - my partner and I have a keen interest in Atlantic Convoys as she was named after HMS Vanessa (upon which her grandfather served in WWI) who acted as a Convoy Escort in WWII on several occasions and a simple set of rules to re-enact some key moments from her history would be great fun.

I have had a quick read-through of the rules (not yet having played the game) and am a little confused by a one thing: The rules suggest that a surfaced Sub can submerge to "confuse the destroyers"

Once an Ocean card has been identified as a Sub (either by sonar or surfacing) the Allied player is then able to visually track the card even if it subsequently submerges. One could argue that once a Sub has been identified by sonar that a "lock" has been established, but there is no lock following a deliberate surfacing and the destroyers are free to pursue and DC a submerged Sub, without needing to use sonar, even if the Sub alters course. At a restricted movement rate of only 1L when submerged, it is a sitting duck.

The rules suggest "stacking" Ocean cards as a tactical option, but there is no suggestion as to how the Axis player can keep a particular card secret unless the Allied player looks away when a "stack" splits (so he does not know which Ocean card came from which position in the stack and further assuming there are no incidental marks/creases that distinguish one card from another).

Creating a stack would also require some tricky manouevering as the cards would need to be aligned perfectly (one atop the other) for any kind of ruse to work and is probably only a practical option at the very start of the game (limiting the Axis players positioning options).
Cards are stated to have no orientation, but I assume that any rotation of a card takes place around it's centre.

The rules state that an undamaged Destroyer moves 3L. Does this mean it ALWAYS moves 3L or can it "slow down" and perhaps only move 2L to move into a better tactical position?

Likewise with turning - it is limited to 90-degree turns or "up to" 90-degrees?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Watson
msg tools
mbmb
It is now over 3 years since I requested these clarifications.

Is anyone able to shed some lights on these points?

At some point we would like to be able to actually play the game

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PJ Cunningham
United States
Greenfield
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would suggest the following slight changes to the rules to address your concerns about trackability.

1. At the start of the German players' movement phase, each German player may reveal any number of their Ocean cards in play (proving they are not subs) and take them into their hand. (They may also start the game with any number of their Ocean cards in hand.)

2. Whenever a U-boat card submerges and is flipped to the Ocean side, its owner may either (a) cover it with an Ocean card from their hand or (b) slide an Ocean card from their hand beneath it. Allied players must look away when this is done. (This is the only way that Ocean cards from a player's hand may be re-introduced to the board.)

In regards to ship movement and maneuverability, I'd suggest that all ships and subs may voluntarily reduce their speed and angle of turning within the limits provided.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.