Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

D-Day Dice: Atlantikwall» Forums » Rules

Subject: sniper rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nushura
Japan
Sendai
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello all, today we tried AW and I got a couple of questions:

A very powerful card is the sniper. It costs 3 stars and every turn kills a german specialist for just 1 courage. If he manages to kill the one that activates the MGF, the game becomes waaay easier for the allies. Afterwards, the sniper can slowly kill any other german specialist.

This is too powerful, so the german must kill the sniper. For the purpose he only has one award that does so, but the allies have a one-time award canceler (Soe Agent).

So basically, the allies must buy the Soe Agent, then the sniper, right? But how can they do so with only one sniper award? are we doing something wrong?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emmanuel Aquin
Canada
Mont-Saint-Hilaire
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
And D-Day Dice, too!
badge
I'm an "A"vatar.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do not forget about the Zwangsrekrut! This is the Specialist that the German must always have on board, to prevent the loss of his other Specialists.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hans
Netherlands
Near Zwolle
Gelderland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We played the game with the Atlantikwall addon recently for the first time and we like it very much.

But I agree with Nushura that the game is a lot easier for the allies when they have the Soe Agent and the Sniper.

It's because the German player has to buy the Zwangsrekrut every turn, which will cost him two stars every turn. So if the German player wants to buy a new specialist, than he must also buy the Zwangsrekrut.
In most of the Final Tallies there are not enough stars to do so.

Result: the German player has almost no specialists at all.

Are we doing something wrong?

Edit (OK on page 6):
One possible solution is to get asap the "Briefcase" for 20 item points, and buy the "Sniper Badge" to kill the sniper forever.
Or use 4 times the Scharfsch├╝tze on the Allies to get rid of him.

We still have one question about the sniper:
If the Sniper card is played, who may choose which specialist is hit?
1) On the card, "...kill 1 German Specialist of your choise" so the player of the card decides?
2) In the manual page 6, "When hit by the Sniper, you must lose 1 Specialist of your choice (or your Zwangsrekrut)."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emmanuel Aquin
Canada
Mont-Saint-Hilaire
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
And D-Day Dice, too!
badge
I'm an "A"vatar.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hans213 wrote:
We still have one question about the sniper:
If the Sniper card is played, who may choose which specialist is hit?
1) On the card, "...kill 1 German Specialist of your choise" so the player of the card decides?
2) In the manual page 6, "When hit by the Sniper, you must lose 1 Specialist of your choice (or your Zwangsrekrut)."


Hi Hans,

The Allies choose which Specialist is killed by the Sniper (but the German always has the option to lose his Zwangsrekrut instead). So option "1" is correct.

The page 6 rule you quote in option "2" is for solitaire play (where there are no human Allies, so you must decide for them).


E
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.