Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Virgin Queen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Catholic League formation & other questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
L. D.
msg tools
Hi there,

A couple of questions following our game of this saturday, which raised up the need for some ruling.

First of all, regarding Catholic league formation. Point 20.10 of the rules states as follow:
Quote:
Formation is automatic if the Protestant player controls 3 keys in France. If the Protestant has less than 3 keys and 5 or fewer French home spaces (including any keys) under political control, the Catholic League is not formed; check again next turn. In all other cases, roll 1 die and add the number rolled to the number of French home spaces under Protestant political control. If the sum is 12 or higher, the Catholic League is formed.


Q: Regarding the sentence in bold, does the 3 keys have to be in France, or are all the Protestant-controlled keys taken into consideration ? Also, regarding the 5 French Home Spaces, do we count the "Split Home Spaces" (mixed background color) under Protestant control as well, or only the strictly French Home Spaces (those with unicolor blue background) ?

Next, quick question about the Jeanne of Navarre Event card, which states:
Quote:
Play as an event to start a rebellion in France as if 5 CP were spent. In addition, displace any non‐Protestant units from Bayonne, and place that space under Protestant control adding 1 Huguenot regular there. OR Play as a response to cancel play of the Gouvernante of France home card. Remove from deck after play as either variant.


Q: In the first variant, is Bayonne placed only under Protestant political control (thus retaining it's previous religious influence), or is it automatically placed under Protestant religious influence as well ?


And finally, a quick question regarding Field Battle. Rule is pretty clear in this case, but we're missing the rationale, so we want to have a confirmation.

Q: In a field battle, if the defender of a space loses all his units BUT did score more hits than the attacker (who have units remaining after the battle), does the attacker still have to retreat ?

Thanks a lot for your answers !
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel K
United States
Minnetrista
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SinRJ wrote:
Regarding the sentence in bold, does the 3 keys have to be in France

Yes.

Quote:
Also, regarding the 5 French Home Spaces, do we count the "Split Home Spaces" (mixed background color) under Protestant control as well

Yes. These split-color spaces are always French home spaces. Only when under Huguenot political control do they also serve as Huguenot home spaces.

Quote:
In the first variant, is Bayonne placed only under Protestant political control (thus retaining its previous religious influence)

Protestant political control only. I'm sure the card would tell you if it was meant to be both (e.g., Sea Beggars).

Quote:
In a field battle, if the defender of a space loses all his units BUT did score more hits than the attacker (who have units remaining after the battle), does the attacker still have to retreat ?

Yes. In this scenario, the defender is declared the winner of the battle (Field Battle Procedure step 7). It doesn't matter if he lost all his units. The attacker lost and must retreat.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Forster
United States
Pleasant Prairie
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
"When playing a game, the goal is to win, but it is the goal that is important, not the winning" - Dr. Reiner Knizia
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Yes. These split-color spaces are always French home spaces. Only when under Huguenot political control do they also serve as Huguenot home spaces.


Actually, they're always Huguenot home spaces. Otherwise the Protestant wouldn't get +1 die for rebellions in his "home spaces." They're just home spaces that you don't control.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Read
United Kingdom
BATH
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Greg Forster wrote:

Actually, they're always Huguenot home spaces. Otherwise the Protestant wouldn't get +1 die for rebellions in his "home spaces." They're just home spaces that you don't control.


Whoa! Where did this come from? I can't see it in the rules or the Errata
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel K
United States
Minnetrista
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Step 2 of the Rebellion Procedure on page 29. Greg's right that the split color spaces are always Huguenot for the purpose of this rebellion bonus die, but they're only considered home spaces for the purpose of unit construction if under Huguenot political control.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Maginity
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't forget one critical difference between the split spaces in the Netherlands and France, namely that the split Spanish/Dutch spaces cease to function as Dutch home spaces after "Union of Arras" is played. Which means no bonus die for rebellions, and no construction of Dutch units on these spaces even when the Protestants have political control.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Read
United Kingdom
BATH
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JoelCFC25 wrote:
Step 2 of the Rebellion Procedure on page 29. Greg's right that the split color spaces are always Huguenot for the purpose of this rebellion bonus die, but they're only considered home spaces for the purpose of unit construction if under Huguenot political control.


Thanks guys, I had totally missed that!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Ferguson
Ireland
Cork
Cork
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
JoelCFC25 wrote:
Step 2 of the Rebellion Procedure on page 29. Greg's right that the split color spaces are always Huguenot for the purpose of this rebellion bonus die, but they're only considered home spaces for the purpose of unit construction if under Huguenot political control.

The necessity for control is true for all unit construction, though, so one can say the same about any home space, not just the "split" ones. (I would have to say that the rules do slightly speak out of both sides of their mouth on the correct terminology in such cases, but the effect is I think clear in all cases. (Tempting fate by saying 'all', amn't I?))
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Ferguson
Ireland
Cork
Cork
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
SinRJ wrote:
And finally, a quick question regarding Field Battle. Rule is pretty clear in this case, but we're missing the rationale, so we want to have a confirmation.

Q: In a field battle, if the defender of a space loses all his units BUT did score more hits than the attacker (who have units remaining after the battle), does the attacker still have to retreat ?

As to the rationale... Most battles are won by morale, rather than bodycount. (Not that bodycount is without its effect on morale...) So what's happened here is that that the attackers have broken, and been unable to make good their offensive action, but their commanders have been able to rally such troops as would be able to make usable formations in the aftermath. (Long gamescale, after all. Impulse represents many months of action.) The defenders, in contrast, have held but have suffered such severe casualties as to be able to conduct no further military actions, or field a "complete" unit in game terms. Hope that helps!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.