Risto Pietilä
msg tools
Summary

The game is 2-4 players, 60-90 minutes. Players start with some money to buy land. They chop the forest to gain wood, build farms and houses, set up quarries and mines, build more, start to export metal ore and factory products and build a town filled with beautiful buildings granting victory points. All play the same board. The quests (=VPs) and buildings that are eligible to be built are selected different every game.

Similarity

Catan - Board layout, resource types, road placement, components

Dominion - Cards (in this case: buildings) to be played are selected from a big pool resulting in completely different plays, several identical buildings

Le Havre - Actions to convert resources to more valuable ones, ideas

Unique mechanics

(I have had no knowledge of a precedent although of course there are such and I would like to hear of them)

Action Selection Mechanism - Play goes clockwise old-style. There are around 15 different actions in the game. A player can take any actions he wants and (nearly) as many times he wants. The trick is that the first action is free, and 2nd-7th action cost an increasing amount of money. The money goes to:

Citizens' Spending Pool - Players spend money to pay for actions, plus to activate workers from the town residents to do anything. The money goes to common pools that the other players can activate and empty if they have certain buildings or resources.

Forced Redemption - You can demolish any building that the others have built, provided that you can replace it with a bigger one, and compensate the previous owner by paying him the sticker price of the old building. The trick is that the land is waaay more valuable than the sticker price of the buildings and gets more valuable as the game progresses. Also if you can fit more buildings to the same hex, you can even steal the existing buildings.