Popular Tags: [View All]
Byron Campbell
United States
Santa Clarita
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I had my first, eagerly-anticipated play of this game last night, and while it went about as well as you could expect with 3 1/2 total newbies, two of whom completely ignored my advice about reading the rulebook ahead of time, there are still a few ways it could have gone better. Here are a few tips I picked up about enjoying your first game of Android; or, if you're the host, helping your guests enjoy their first game.

1) Every player should have read the rulebook before the game begins. As suggested above, my players ignored this rule. Now, Android is not an overly complex game, and it absolutely can be taught verbally, probably in about a half-hour to forty-five minutes. However, reading the rules ahead of time will increase your enjoyment of the game. Why?

There are two reasons. First, the rulebook provides vital context for all of the game's mechanisms that just can't be replaced by a 30 minute rules lecture. One of my players spent half the game thinking the documentary lead token was a gun. Would it have increased her enjoyment to know that physical leads "represent forensic, genetic, or ballistic evidence?" Probably only marginally--it would add to the story being built in her head every time she followed or moved such a lead--but nearly every paragraph of the rulebook contains such a context detail, and they add up to create a semi-cohesive picture of the game world. It's not absolutely necessary to know why Lily Lockwell lets them flip a piece of evidence face-up, but going into the game with more knowledge of the world and its history means that every action means more. Particularly, light and dark cards will have much more emotional impact, even when they're played on another character.