Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

War of the Ring (First Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mustering in recaptured settlements rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kris Vekens
Belgium
flag msg tools
Just to be sure we are playing this rule correct:

Rules state (p 32 of 2nd Edition rulebook): If the original owner of the region is able to recapture it, the Settlement Control Marker is removed and any Victory Points earned from the conquest are lost.

Say if Isengard conquers all the Rohan settlements, and destroys all Rohan armies on the board, but there all still Rohan units left for reinforcement.

If a Gondor army is able to recapture a settlement, for example Edoras, it is impossible to muster a Rohan unit in Edoras, even with Event cards? And SP keeps the victory point of Edoras?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Boeren
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Owner refers to the player, not the nation.

So if Gondor troops recapture Edoras then yes, you can muster there again and the Shadow player loses the VPs.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gandalf the Grey
United States
Logan
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the SP controls all of Rohan, then a Gondor army comes and captures Edoras, then the FP would be able to muster the rohan units again.

That being said in order to play recruitment cards such as "Eomer son of Eomund" the indicated territory must be controlled by the FP.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris Vekens
Belgium
flag msg tools
Ok, thx for the clarification.

We started doubting when we saw "The Actual Rules 2.0 (Pirate Collectors Edition)" by Magicgeek (http://veldrin.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=Rules&action=di...) in which can be found: "Ownership of Settlements: Every nation owns their starting settlements. If all conquering units leave a conquered settlement, place a Settlement Control Marker on it to display conquered state. Remove the Settlement Control Marker if the original nation ever liberates the settlement. A captured settlement or Stronghold cannot be used for mustering troops or advancing the Political Track."

And in the Official rules also can be found: "At the start of the game, all Settlements belong to the Nation in which their region is located." Nothing is said about the player


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.