Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Conflict of Heroes: Awakening the Bear! – Russia 1941-42» Forums » Rules

Subject: Firing smoke rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter van der Pols
Netherlands
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Hi,

Does a unit firing smoke need LOS to the target hex? I guess the answer is yes, but it turned out to be a little bit weird when a tank is firing 2 or 3 smoke markers in a row. The first smoke marker could block the LOS for the second and third target hex. The smoke could be fired in another order, but sometimes the order is important to protect my most valuable units.

Peter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Palmer
Canada
Ayr
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, LOS is required.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesse LeBreton
United States
Kingsford
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
That is an interesting question Peter. You know that would make a good house rule to allow one to fire smoke past his first smoke. Since smoke by its nature does not has to be precise but rather just hit in the right hex one could easily make it dice roll dependent. Try someting like this.

on a roll of 1-4 it hits the target hex if its a short range shot. Say within 5 hexes.
On a roll of 1-3 it hits the target hex if its between 6-10 hexes away.
On a roll of 1-2 it hits the target hex if its over 10 hexes away.

When it's a miss you roll 1d6 again to determine drift. Like a clock you assign a roll of 1 toward the top and proceed clockwise to determine which adjecent hex it actually lands in.

For a really easy shot like 2 hexes away, even when though another smoke, you could make it automatic.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.