Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Thirty Years War: Europe in Agony, 1618-1648» Forums » Rules

Subject: New player query rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gary Barr
United Kingdom
Ballyclare N.Ireland
Co Antrim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi

Just got this game and reading through updated rules

Am bit confused as to how Foraging when moving large stacks is implemented ?

Do you simply place the required Pillage markers after movement and that's all or is there a Looting dice roll involved in movement phase (after any battles) ?

Cheers
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt & Laurel
United Kingdom
Harrogate
flag msg tools
mb
Hi Gary,

Most of the information on Foraging is contained in sections 11.16, 11.161, and 11.162.

When moving stacks of 3 or more units, those units must forage. The moving player chooses which city or cities in which to forage, including the city in which the stack stopped its movement, before any battles are resolved.

If the Foraging requirements cannot be met, for example because all the cities that the moving stack moved through/stopped in already have Pillage-2 markers in them, then step losses are applied to units in the moving stack equal to the unmet requirement.

Note also that activating an army for Siege Combat only (no movement) does not require foraging.

There is no looting required as part of Foraging. Looting only takes place during the Loot segment of the Pay Phase. At this time Pillage markers provide a +1 or +2 die roll modifier to any roll on the Loot Table.

Pillage markers also affect a Leader's ability to recruit. Recruiting in a Pillage-1 city provides a -1 die roll modifier to any roll on the Recruiting Table; Recruiting is not possible in a Pillage-2 city.

I hope that helps. Post again if you have any questions.

Cheers,

Matt

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Barr
United Kingdom
Ballyclare N.Ireland
Co Antrim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Matt
Thanks that clears it up for me

Was just unsure if any looting occurred in action phase

Cheers
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt & Laurel
United Kingdom
Harrogate
flag msg tools
mb
Hi Gary,

No problem. Glad to be able to help.

Enjoy the game.

Cheers,

Matt
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.