Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Amateurs to Arms!» Forums » Sessions

Subject: A Solo Game: September-November 1814 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Borchers
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
American Hand:

#16 Free Trade and Sailor’s Rights (4)
#19 Baltimore Clippers (4)
#79 Napoleon Suffers a Setback (4)
#92 City Burns (3)
#123 The Sage of Monticello (5)

saved from previous turn: #69 Bateaux (or Sledge) Smuggling (2)

British Hand:

#13 “Old Ironsides (4)
#15 Stung by a Wasp! (4)
#55 Laura Secord (3)
#65 “Don’t Give Up the Ship” (2)
#138 American Privateers (4)

saved from previous turn: #26 Unrest in Lower Canada (5)

American Round 1:With Napoleon on the brink of falling, the importance of beating the Chickasaws (and getting to peace sooner than later) become even greater. Play #92 City Burns (3) for Operations points, activating Harrison and Expedition A for another attempt at ending this belligerent Indian conflict. Once again, the roll to discover Indians is successful (1 +3 = 4, which is less than 7). The roll for strength is a 7, so both sides are of equal strength; the Americans have a leadership advantage but must subtract 1 from the roll. The Americans roll a 5, modified to 4, which causes 2 losses. The Indians roll a 3, causing 1 loss. The Americans win based on number of losses. The Americans roll another die, resulting in a 6. As this is less than the strength of the Indian force defeated, the Americans have defeated the Chickasaws. The British Peace marker moves forward a space.



British Round 1: Play #55 Laura Secord (3) for Operations points. Activate Sheaffe (Expedition C) for an attack against Sackett’s Harbor. The Militia and Fencibles pass their rolls to cross the border. The local Militia enthusiastically turns out for the fight ( a roll of 9, so 5 units are added to the American side). Both sides will roll of the 6-10 table with tactical ratings of 2, but the British will add 2 to the roll for control of Lake Ontario and the Americans subtract 1 for their Militia majority. The American final result of 6 produces a “2*”, while final British roll of 3 produces a “2”. The British lose a Regular and a Militia unit, while the Americans take a loss from the local Militia. The British retreat, and no Peace marker moves occur.

American Round 2: Play #16 Free Trade and Sailor’s Rights (4) for Operations points. Activate Hampton and Expedition H in Fort Meigs. His force, 6 Militia units, all pass their roll to cross the border. Using Lake Movement, the Expedition first changes control of Moravian Town before sailing back to Fort Meigs, then lands to attack Amherstburg. As the British force consists of Indians and a leader, they will have to go to Fort Mackinac if forced to retreat. The British roll on the 1-5 table with a tactical rating of 1, while the American roll on the 6-10 table with a tactical rating of 1. The Americans add 2 to their roll for control of Lake Erie, and subtract 1 for the Militia force. The final British roll of 2 causes no losses, while the final American roll of 6 produces a “2”. The fort in Amherstburg absorbs a loss, so 1 Indian unit is eliminated. The Americans sail back to Fort Meigs for now.



British Round 2: The American control marker in Moravian Town means that the 2 Fencibles in Oxford cannot move to reinforce Amherstburg as they are not part of an Expedition (they cannot enter enemy-controlled territory unless part of an Expedition). One more loss will eliminate British Expedition F, costing a Peace marker move, so they must either go to Fort Mackinac or move to Oxford if they want to try to survive. The latter does not require a roll for a wilderness move, so the expedition will withdraw to Oxford. Play #13 “Old Ironsides (4) for Operations points, and move Expedition F to Oxford, converting the Moravian Town space en route.

American Round 3: Play #19 Baltimore Clippers (4) for Operation s points. Take 2 Regulars from Expedition L and move them to reinforce Buffalo for two points. Use the remaining points to continue the ship construction at Sackett’s Harbor.

British Round 3: Play #15 Stung by a Wasp! (4) for Operations points. The British try one more attack on Sackett’s Harbor. Sheaffe’s Expedition C has its Militia and Fencible units pass their rolls to cross the border. Two Local Militia join the American forces. Both sides roll on the same 1-5 table with tactical values of 2; the British add 2 to their roll, the Americans subtract 1. The American result is a “2”, the British result is “2*”. The American fort is eliminated, and one Local Militia is lost, while the British eliminate their Fencible and Militia units. The British once again retreat.

American Round 4: Play #79 Napoleon Suffers a Setback (4) as an Event. Napoleon finally falls, although this is really too late for the British cause. The Americans use their 4 Operations points to complete the Frigate at Sackett’s Harbor and transfer 2 Regulars from Fort Oswego to Sackett’s Harbor.

British Round 4: Play #138 American Privateers (4) for Operations points, activating Barclay and the Erie Expedition. The British try to make a desperate attempt to take back Lake Erie. Each side has a brig, a schooner, and a gunboat. The Americans have an advantage of 2 in Perry’s tactical rating over Barclay. The first duel sees Barclay withdraw from the battle (the British save their “Don’t Give Up the Ship” card). The British then have a schooner sunk, and the British gunboat withdraws. Barclay slinks back to the Long Point anchorage. No Peace track moves (or lake control changes) result.

American Round 5: Looking for another Peace track move, the Americans try a quick raid on York. Play #69 Bateaux (or Sledge) Smuggling (2) as an Event for Ex[edition D (3 Regulars under Deaborn) to cross Lake Ontario and strike the Militia at York. 4 Local Militia arrive to join the 3 Militia already there. The Americans roll on the 1-5 table, the British on the 6-10 table with a net +1 modifier. The raid was a mistake – 1 Militia unit falls, but the entire American force is eliminated with a 4*. The American Peace marker moves forward one space for the eliminated expedition.

British Round 5: Play #26 Unrest in Lower Canada (5) to activate Norton and 2 Indians to grab some wilderness territory. Forming Expedition I, they attempt to split away from Expedition E at Fort Mackinac and move to Fort Dearborn. The net modifier is a +4. The roll is 4, modified to 8, and so Fort Dearborn is now under British control.

American Round 6: Play #123 The Sage of Monticello (5) for Operations. Activate Expedition H (Hampton) and use Lake Movement to move to Amherstburg, Moravian Town, and lastly attack Oxford. His all-Militia force willingly crosses the border. The American roll on the 6-10 table with a 1 tactical rating and a net +1 die roll modifier, while the British roll on the 1-5 table with a 1 tactical modifier. The British roll of 0 causes no losses, while the American roll of 6, modified to 7, produces a “2*”. The British lose an Indian unit and a Fencible, then retreat to York. The causes the British Erie expedition to sortie from Long Point. The brigs face off again, and this time the American schooner and gunboat line up against the British gunboat. The first round for the brigs is a draw, but the British gunboat is captured. The next round sees the British brig withdraw, but as no safe port exists for it, it is scuttled. After all this action, the Peace markers still do not move – a move forward by either one will result in peace.



British Round 6: Play #65 “Don’t Give Up the Ship” (2) for Operations points. Activate McDouall in Fort Mackinac and attempt a wilderness move to Prairie du Chien. This is about the only move left to the British. One British Voyageur makes the move (as Expedition K). With a modifier of +3, the roll of 6 (modified to 9) means the move is successful.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow, what an exciting turn! Napoleon finally defeated, multiple attacks on Sackett's Harbor (but the American frigate is safely completed!) decisive action on Lake Erie, American attacks into Upper Canada, British attacks into the great Northwest wilderness, and the Chickasaw rebellion put down by William Henry Harrison.

Quote:
Activate Hampton and Expedition H in Fort Meigs. His force, 6 Militia units, all pass their roll to cross the border. Using Lake Movement, the Expedition first changes control of Moravian Town before sailing back to Fort Meigs, then lands to attack Amherstburg.

The Americans should have rolled another Militia check when they crossed the border for a second time, from Fort Meigs to Amherstburg.

Quote:
American Round 3: Play #19 Baltimore Clippers (4) for Operation s points.

The Mid-Atlantic is under Full Blockade, which is why this card was not played for the event, correct? I knew you should have saved your Slip Past the Blockade card from last turn!

Quote:
...the British result is “2*”. The American fort is eliminated, and one Local Militia is lost

Actually, the British * result means that something other than a Local Militia must be removed.

Thanks for posting, Paul!

Kevin
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Borchers
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
The Americans should have rolled another Militia check when they crossed the border for a second time, from Fort Meigs to Amherstburg.


Yep, my mistake. That reminds me of a question, though. I've been playing that an attacking Expedition that retreats must retreat to the last space it occupied before it moved into the enemy-occupied space for the attack. A side that controls a lake, however, can use Lake Movement to retreat. Does that mean that an attacker who must retreat from a space on a lake (and who controls that lake) can choose to retreat to the space the attacker left before the attack, or retreat to any other space on the lake? If so, then I wouldn't have crossed the border twice with the Expedition.

Quote:
The Mid-Atlantic is under Full Blockade, which is why this card was not played for the event, correct? I knew you should have saved your Slip Past the Blockade card from last turn!


Yeah, I knew a card like that was going to show up! Of course, the previous turn had the Brits really drawing down the American hand, making saving a card difficult.

Quote:
Actually, the British * result means that something other than a Local Militia must be removed.


Is this an official change? The rules simply say non-Miitia unit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Does that mean that an attacker who must retreat from a space on a lake (and who controls that lake) can choose to retreat to the space the attacker left before the attack, or retreat to any other space on the lake?

Nope, the Retreat rules offer no exception for lake control. In the rules, section 8.4 Retreats, second paragraph, it simply states: "If an attacker Retreats, all must go back to the Area the attacker came from." So you did it right, crossing the border twice, and risking militia refusal both times, so that you'd retreat back to where you wanted to be if you lost the battle.

Quote:
Is this an official change? The rules simply say non-Miitia unit.

The non-Militia part remains unchanged: you must remove one non-Militia unit for every asterisk result received by your opponent. But the rules go on to say "if present". (See 8.3 Combat Results, item 1.) So if you've got nothing but Militia present, you're off the hook. However, we have decided to extend this rule for the unusual situation where you've got both Voluntary and Local Militia present, but nothing else. You've got to remove a Voluntary Militia (not Local Militia) for each asterisk received by your opponent. And yes, this is official.

Kevin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.