You won't find Intimidate clarification in the FAQ as it works exactly as stated in the core rules:
From Page 21:
While a character with the “Intimidate” keyword is attacking, characters with a lower STR than that character do not count their STR for that challenge."
Ok, no worries. I figured it would have filtered in there due to the counter intuitive nature of it all (even the Full Tilt guys missed that it applied to all character until somebody pointed it out in their comments). 'Course, I suspect a load of Greyjoy characters would carry that keyword, so it probably wouldn't "backfire" as strongly as I'm imagining.