Jeremey Byrne
Australia
Marcoola
QLD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi guys, we had this come up in a game the other day. I thought it was pretty unthematic if Tomble could use a knocked out hero's defence pool dice but after looking at the rules as written it seems that he can still do so. I guess he just lies down on the ground next to them and picks up their shield too.

Has anyone else discussed this in their games?

I was OL and did not think it was in the spirit of the ability(I know that does not count for a lot in some gamer's eyes) but the Heroes thought otherwise. So we went with that.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Robben
United States
Spring Hill
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe not...because I recall somethng in the rules saying kicked out heroes can't be targeted for anything except healing abilities?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Tinnel
United States
Mansfield Center
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since just the KO'd hero's token is on the board, I wouldn't count Tomble as adjacent to a hero.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sylvain BONNEAU
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In a nutshell:

- Mr Skeletor: Quit playing with assholes.

- StormKnight: The rule says he can, why would anyone be an asshole for playing by the rule?

- bleach_lizard: New Thread "Variant suggestion for Tomble ability"

- PKDuke: New Poll "Do you think Descent 2nd is broken due to Tomble ability?"

- manydills: -drink-

- random newcomer: Quick question: is the LoS example in the rulebook correct?

--
Buggy
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Scatliff
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
It's about time, too.
badge
I hate overtext but love irony.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bvggy wrote:
In a nutshell:

- Mr Skeletor: Quit playing with assholes.

- StormKnight: The rule says he can, why would anyone be an asshole for playing by the rule?

- bleach_lizard: New Thread "Variant suggestion for Tomble ability"

- PKDuke: New Poll "Do you think Descent 2nd is broken due to Tomble ability?"

- manydills: -drink-

- random newcomer: Quick question: is the LoS example in the rulebook correct?

--
Buggy

I'm on Team Skeletor.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sylvain BONNEAU
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Smoo wrote:
I'm on Team Skeletor.


I know you are: I first planned on having a dedicated line for you... then I just assumed you would happily jump in the Skeletor Bus - minus the crude language.

--
Buggy
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Scatliff
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
It's about time, too.
badge
I hate overtext but love irony.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bvggy wrote:
minus the crude language.

...but twice the condescending arrogance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Kelly
United States
Richardson
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bvggy wrote:
In a nutshell:

- Mr Skeletor: Quit playing with assholes.

- StormKnight: The rule says he can, why would anyone be an asshole for playing by the rule?

- bleach_lizard: New Thread "Variant suggestion for Tomble ability"

- PKDuke: New Poll "Do you think Descent 2nd is broken due to Tomble ability?"

- manydills: -drink-

- random newcomer: Quick question: is the LoS example in the rulebook correct?

--
Buggy

Bless you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian M
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Damn Sylvain, keep talking like that and you'll obsolete half the posting on BGG.

However, you've mis-predicted in this case

page 15 wrote:
While monster attacks cannot target or affect a knocked out hero, hero players may only target a knocked out hero with an ability that would allow the knocked out hero to recover any amount of damage. For this exception, the knocked out hero’s hero token is treated as a hero even if another figure occupies the space containing the hero token.


So no, I don't think Tomble can hide under the body of a fallen ally
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.