Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Road to Enlightenment» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacking into and from conquered territorries rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Henry Campau
United States
Mt Holly
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) The rules state you can only attack an area that has your country's color in the top semi circle of the intended target. So does that mean you cannot ever advance from a terriotory you conquered if the next target doesn't have your color as a prospective enemy?

Case in point: England attacks from the Netherlands into Hesse. Ok.
Then from Hesse, England cannot attack either Saxony or Brandenburg, because those are not English "targets" according to the rule.

I know there is not a shortage of places for people to attack, but it seems kind of limiting/arbitrary to stop your advance, when there's those easy neutral areas to pluck.

2) On the other side of the coin, are there any limitations for people attacking a "conquered" neutral territory. Back to the example, now that Hesse would be in England's hands, does that change anything about Hesse? Can everyone/anyone then attack it, or only those colors on the circle?

Just wondering...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francisco Pizarro
United States
Granville
Ohio
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lukas4 wrote:
1)

Case in point: England attacks from the Netherlands into Hesse. Ok.
Then from Hesse, England cannot attack either Saxony or Brandenburg, because those are not English "targets" according to the rule.

I know there is not a shortage of places for people to attack, but it seems kind of limiting/arbitrary to stop your advance, when there's those easy neutral areas to pluck.

2) On the other side of the coin, are there any limitations for people attacking a "conquered" neutral territory. Back to the example, now that Hesse would be in England's hands, does that change anything about Hesse? Can everyone/anyone then attack it, or only those colors on the circle?


Hi Henry,

Good questions.

Yes, England has to stop. There are various reasons for this from game balance to trying to stay somewhat historically plausible. We even stretched things a tick in allowing some countries to expand perhaps farther than they could. There are religious, logistical, and cultural reasons for a lot of our choices here. But as you say, England has plenty of targets (I believe they have 6 neutral targets, yes?) and don't forget: you are only allowed to hold 5 territories outside of your homeland at a time. If England has reached Brandenburg -- yikes! That's an aggressive Englishman! And a bunch of other players who are not helping those poor neutrals!

As for question 2: This needs added to the FAQ.

According to the rules you need to have your color on the wheel. However, there is a variant that we also support called Liberation, which effectively (temporarily) removes the colors from a Neutral when a major power has conquered a neutral city/territory making it open to attack from any other major power that is adjacent or on a viable port. If all players agree, then go for it.

However, to HOLD the city you need to have your color on it. So, in Hesse's case: If England takes it, Sweden could attack it but if they win it would liberate Hesse and put it back to Neutral status.

bill
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.