Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave Rutter
United States
Batavia
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I am new to this game and have been trying to play the first Italian Campaign. I have enjoyed the game but have been defeated three times. I think I am not using the rules to my advantage and I would appreciate any advice.

(1) I see that reserve units cannot attack. Does that mean I should be trying to pin the enemy units in the reserve. All my battles tend to involve meeting in the middle. Units are so easy to hit and have such limited survival that the battles usually get resolved there. Also, France only gets 1 or 2 battle plans so usually 1 or two French units jump out front to attack. Not sure how I could effectively move many units to force back enemy to reserve. I dont think I am yet seeing all the importance of the rules about approach and reserve. I find myself mostly sitting back with cannons or fortifications, blasting away at enemy before it gets to my men, but I am sure that a more aggressive style will be more effective since the rules are set to copy Napoleons aggressive style of warfare.

(2) I dont think I am using cavalry well. I see the sweep insight and flank battle commands, but usually most of my cavalry charges into the enemy hits once or twice and then is the focus of all the enemy and goes down.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Willows
United States
Woburn
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well I just got the game but I'd be interested in talking some strategy when I've played a bit.

After reading the rules my first thought was that perhaps there would be a better investment in terms of supply points than cannon. I'm thinking additional battle plans or scouts.