Bill Fuller
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
When a feature tile building is destroyed, the tile is flipped over and any occupying infantry units are damaged (if infantry units are already damaged, they are destroyed) - Combat Rules 20 and 21.

Can a subsequent attack--in the same or on a later turn, on the feature tile building result in the destruction of the now damaged infantry? Or, do multiple planned attacks cease once the feature/building is destroyed, as when a land unit is destroyed by the first shot and subsequent planned attacks are canceled?

Common sense suggests you should be able to keep shelling the ruins until the infantry is destroyed but how says the umpire?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Collins
United States
Suffolk
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
buffdriver wrote:
When a feature tile building is destroyed, the tile is flipped over and any occupying infantry units are damaged (if infantry units are already damaged, they are destroyed) - Combat Rules 20 and 21.

Can a subsequent attack--in the same or on a later turn, on the feature tile building result in the destruction of the now damaged infantry? Or, do multiple planned attacks cease once the feature/building is destroyed, as when a land unit is destroyed by the first shot and subsequent planned attacks are canceled?

Common sense suggests you should be able to keep shelling the ruins until the infantry is destroyed but how says the umpire?



I would say that any units firing area fire weapons such as mortars, bombs, or artillery shells, that are able to destroy that building, but really affect the entire space (per the rules), are okay to continue to potentially do damage to any infantry that survive the building collapse, but they are harder to hit.... So if Shell A destroys a village building (which really targets the space) housing two infantry, each get a damage card, and the building is flipped to ruins. Then Shell B (that was also previously-declared as targeting the space) lands later... to see if it hits the infantry, treat it as a regular attack against infantry, not against the building (look at the Attack Value vs. infantry for that weapon). If the value is met or exceeded, both infantry also take damage from Shell B, less the defense of the ruins. This is in addition to the auto-damage from the building collapse caused by Shell A.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.