Robin Reeve
Switzerland
St-Légier
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Looking for a game session in Switzerland? Send me a pm!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When a ranged weapon is used against an adjacent target, does it need at least a "1" on his dice attack results to hit its target?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johannes Haglund
Sweden
Göteborg
Västra Götaland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. But the lowest you can roll and still hit is 2.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Even though Frankysan is right that the minimum range you can roll on the blue die is 2, Range is not checked for melee attacks.

Quote:
Check Range: When performing a Ranged attack, the attacking
player must roll enough range to reach the target.

Descent 2nd Ed Rulebook pg 9 in the Attack section


You only check range when performing a Ranged attack.

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shnar wrote:
Even though Frankysan is right that the minimum range you can roll on the blue die is 2, Range is not checked for melee attacks.

Quote:
Check Range: When performing a Ranged attack, the attacking
player must roll enough range to reach the target.

Descent 2nd Ed Rulebook pg 9 in the Attack section


You only check range when performing a Ranged attack.

-shnar


And that's exactly what he was talking about - ranged attacks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heh, that's what I get for answering a question while watching Star Trek TOS

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shnar wrote:
Heh, that's what I get for answering a question while watching Star Trek TOS

-shnar


It rots your brain, I tell ya!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Davis
United States
North Dakota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bleached_lizard wrote:
shnar wrote:
Heh, that's what I get for answering a question while watching Star Trek TOS

-shnar


It rots your brain, I tell ya!


Yeah, buts its a GOOD rot!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Unholy Emerald
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Frankysan wrote:
Yes. But the lowest you can roll and still hit is 2.


Actually the yellow die has a 1 on it. That would hit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Reeve
Switzerland
St-Légier
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Looking for a game session in Switzerland? Send me a pm!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bosbill wrote:
Frankysan wrote:
Yes. But the lowest you can roll and still hit is 2.


Actually the yellow die has a 1 on it. That would hit.
The attack die (blue die) has at its lowest a 2 - not counting the dreaded "X" result.
Whether the red or the yellow dice are used in addition, the fact is that 2 remains the lowest you can roll.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There can be modifiers, however, that could affect a ranged attack from what is normally the guaranteed hit (X notwithstanding) range. Stealthy and Tatianna's Hero Ability come to mind.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.