Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Larry Levandowski
United States
Pittsburg
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am new to ASL, but I managed to get a copy of the original AH Module 1, Beyond Valor, wrapped, air tight in its original shrink. Not being much of a collector, and more of player, I decided to open it. The game is almost 30 years old (printed in 86), but I figured that having been in shrink wrap so long it would be in good shape. Not so. The box itself is very weak, and the corners came apart with just normal handling. Many of the counter sheets are losing their backing and seem somewhat shriveled. I have often heard archivists say that old paper should be allowed to breath. I have some 50 year old AH games that are open, and doing very well. So I am wondering if the air-tight packaging was the problem here.

Anyone else had similar problems?

Maybe from now on, I'll just buy opened copies.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Eldard
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I wonder if

1) The shrink wrap wasn't original, but a post-production job that sealed already-damaged components.

- or -

2) The environment in which the shrink wrapped game was stored (e.g. hot attic) accelerated the deterioration of the components.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Yeackle
United States
San Luis Obispo
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Number_41 wrote: