Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Tichu» Forums » Rules

Subject: Continue playing on Trick if player goes out? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
Emeryville
California
flag msg tools
badge
Sometimes life is scary and dark. That is why we must find the light. -BMO
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Such a basic question, but I got into a discussion where there was some confusion:

When a player goes "out", does the trick end immediately, or do players who are still in continue playing on the trick?

Similarly, if a player has lead and leads with the last of his cards, does that start a trick that this player will not participate in (because he/she is out), or does the trick automatically end when that player goes out?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Miller
United States
Oklahoma City
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Short answer: Always keep playing.

--ElSoy
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A trick ends when three players consecutatively pass, with players who have no more cards are considered to always pass. I.e. when it would again become the turn of the player who last played. A hand ends when only one player team has cards remaining in hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Chunko
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
mb
curtc wrote:
A hand ends when only one player has cards remaining in hand.


I think you mean "team".

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McEvoy
Canada
Mountain
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Misterboy wrote:
When a player goes "out", does the trick end immediately, or do players who are still in continue playing on the trick?

Similarly, if a player has lead and leads with the last of his cards, does that start a trick that this player will not participate in (because he/she is out), or does the trick automatically end when that player goes out?


When the third player goes out, that trick ends immediately and that player takes that trick (and gives it away if it was taken with a Dragon).

When the second player goes out and is on the same team as the first player that goes out, the trick also ends immediately (though it is not relevant who collects the trick because such a hand is scored without card points anyway).

Otherwise, a player's last play is still a 'live' trick for others to play on. If nobody plays on it that player collects it and the next player in play order gets the next opportunity to lead.

(exception, of course, being the Dog, which transfers the lead across the table even if played as a player's last card).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Emeryville
California
flag msg tools
badge
Sometimes life is scary and dark. That is why we must find the light. -BMO
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thatmarkguy wrote:
Misterboy wrote:
When a player goes "out", does the trick end immediately, or do players who are still in continue playing on the trick?

Similarly, if a player has lead and leads with the last of his cards, does that start a trick that this player will not participate in (because he/she is out), or does the trick automatically end when that player goes out?


When the third player goes out, that trick ends immediately and that player takes that trick (and gives it away if it was taken with a Dragon).

When the second player goes out and is on the same team as the first player that goes out, the trick also ends immediately (though it is not relevant who collects the trick because such a hand is scored without card points anyway).

Otherwise, a player's last play is still a 'live' trick for others to play on. If nobody plays on it that player collects it and the next player in play order gets the next opportunity to lead.

(exception, of course, being the Dog, which transfers the lead across the table even if played as a player's last card).


Thank you for your clear answer!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.