Hide
9 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: Newbie with a few questions about board games? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
warmsignal the great
msg tools
I'm a total noob as far as this hobby goes, I just started. I am interested in starting a collection, specifically dealing with early and 60s/70s vintage board games. I am counting on finding them in the wild, of course. But I quickly realized the challenge in doing this is finding complete games.

I picked up my first game the other day, Kreskin's ESP, and because I didn't really know what to look for, I didn't realize it was incomplete. I've checked around on the site, but can't find any sort of guide to complete games. Does such a recourse exist? Are there any books out that can help you there?

Also, is there a rarity guide for old board games? Does such a thing as a "rare" board game even exist? Are older editions considered more collectable or more valuable than newer ones?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Mellon
United States
Erie
PA
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Before you start collecting old games, you should try some of the modern games.

They're actually quite fun. You might want to buy new games and play them, instead of buying old games that aren't as good, and just looking at them on your shelves.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Lundström
Sweden
Täby
flag msg tools
Now who are these five?
badge
Come, come, all children who love fairy tales.
mbmbmbmbmb
warmsignal wrote:
I've checked around on the site, but can't find any sort of guide to complete games. Does such a recourse exist? Are there any books out that can help you there?

On many game pages you can find pdfs or links to rulebooks that will give a complete list of components. However, it's hard to know when you buy the product, of course.

warmsignal wrote: