Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fear cumulative? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I know that, during area attacks, if one monster in the area has fear, it "protects" all other monsters in that area, too, with it's effect.

But what, if in the area of attack are two (or more) monsters with fear, presumably with different fear ranks? If a fear 1 monster and a fear 2 monster is in the area of an attack, does the attacker roll against:

(1) fear rank 2 (= fear maximum)?
(2) fear rank 3 (= sum of fear ranks)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Corbon Loughnan
Indonesia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hermjard wrote:
I know that, during area attacks, if one monster in the area has fear, it "protects" all other monsters in that area, too, with it's effect.

But what, if in the area of attack are two (or more) monsters with fear, presumably with different fear ranks? If a fear 1 monster and a fear 2 monster is in the area of an attack, does the attacker roll against:

(1) fear rank 2 (= fear maximum)?
(2) fear rank 3 (= sum of fear ranks)?


(2). Pay for the Fear 2 on the first monster. Then its gone, and so are those surges. But the attack is till failing because you haven't paid for the second monster's fear yet.
The attack does suffer the effect 'fear X', so that paying for 'Fear 2' therefore already covers a separate Fear 1, it just has to pay surges to cancel all of the Fear effects or the attack fails.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.