Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
Redford
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Taylor
2097 wrote:
What’s the point of the Taylor? Can you win with Taylor, Jeweller or Church?
How.
I’m curious, I’m just getting into Caylus.

I've never seen it used or used them myself as a dominant part of the strategy, but if scores are close, and the board gets filled up with workers, these buildings aren't a bad way to squeeze more points out of what you have.

They all get you more points than just keeping the resources on their own, but in the grand scheme of things, the resources can usually be put to better use in the castle or with prestige buildings.

It all depends on what others are doing, when these buildings come out and how many rounds are left available.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Moore
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
I have played many Ipod games of Caylus but very few FtF games, so take the following, Under Advisement.

The important bit about Tailor & co. is that they are very little use if they aren't got out as early as possible. A side bit of getting them out is that they slow down cube production and thus derail people obsessed with getting into the castle; which gives you more time, as well, to make points off of them.

Can you win using them? I have built and used them, and won games. But these games were against AI opponents.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gar Per
United States
Greenwood
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
2097 wrote:
What’s the point of the Taylor? Can you win with Taylor, Jeweller or Church?
How.
I’m curious, I’m just getting into Caylus.

I've heard of an off the wall strategy used that includes the church as part of a points engine. I can't remember exactly how it worked, but I think it was something like this:

Build Church.
Use Church's Favor on the building track to overbuild church with Residence
Re-build Church
etc, etc, etc
While doing this, save up for prestige buildings.