BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Conventions

Subject: Gen Con: How much $ to go? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
KRAMPUS
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
After reading all the reports from this year, I'm seriously considering going to Gen Con 2013. This will be my first major convention.

Taking into account travel (from the Mid-Atlantic region), room costs, food costs, admission and event tickets, $ to spend in the dealers room, etc., how much $ will I need to cover it all?

I want to have a great con experience, so I don't want to do it "on the cheap", but being a college student, I'll need to start budgeting now if I want to save enough $ to cover everything.

Also, is the VIG package worth it? Does anyone know how much that costs?

Any help or information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Vaxt

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Warnken
United States
Harrison
Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm not crazy. My mother had me tested.
badge
Happy grandfather!!!
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't know your travel costs but here is a rough estimate on costs.

Badge $70
Tickets $20 - 30
Hotel $250 (assuming four people splitting a room near the convention center)
Dealers Hall $200 - $500
Food $100 - $150

The experience: Priceless
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Gallagher
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The GenCon Web site has a lot of that information. To summarize:

Room: Figure $130-$160 a night (plus tax). Obviously, quad occupancy would cut the cost to a reasonable level for a (starving) college student.

Flight: Check the major travel Web sites two or three months ahead of time. If Southwest is an option, check their site as well.

Admission: 2012 cost for advance ticket was $70 for full convention. VIG pass was $540. Add 6% tax to both.