Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: XY engages a player... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Iron
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are several enemy cards in the game when something bad happens when it "engages a player". (Couple of examples below.)

Do these effects trigger when during the first step ("Player Engagement") of the Encounter phase the player engages the enemy?

So far I have been playing that YES, it triggers. But playing Road to Rivendell last night made me wonder...


Cave Spider
Forced: After Cave Spider engages a player, that player must choose and discard 1 card from his hand, if able.

Goblin Taskmaster

Ambush (After this enemy enters play, each player makes an engagement check against it.)
Forced: After Goblin Taskmaster engages a player, that player deals 2 damage to 1 character he controls.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jefferson Krogh
United States
San Leandro
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, engagements are always mutual. If you engage a critter, it engages you back. And vice versa.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
cosined
United States
Walpole
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
While I take issue with the wording here, engagement reactions (responses and forces) occur whether the player chooses to engage, or the game forces engagement via engagement costs.

I think the following covers this issue...

Quote:
Page 16 of the Core Rules:

Whether an enemy is engaged through an engagement
check, through a card effect, or through a player’s
choice, the end result is the same, with the enemy
and the player engaging one another. In all cases, the
player is considered to have engaged the enemy and the
enemy is considered to have engaged the player.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Iron
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Michael, that's exactly what I was looking for.

Thanks a lot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
cosined
United States
Walpole
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
bveld wrote:
Michael, that's exactly what I was looking for.

Thanks a lot.


I guess I can be helpful, occasionally.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.