Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

D-Day Dice» Forums » General

Subject: Hero Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
B. L.
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Hero Specialist allows you to spend stars or courage to add soldiers to your troops. Can you use this ability anytime you want and as many times as you want? And I'm assuming since it says or you can't combine stars and courage at the same time to add soldiers.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Douglass
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Hero specialist doesn't add soldiers, it saves them. You can spend 1 star or 1 courage whenever you would lose a soldier in order to save them. This can allow you to avoid losing specialists, and is akin to the Medic, except you pay a cost rather than the ability triggering automatically. My understanding is that you can mix and match paying courage and stars for this ability.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mats Lintonsson
Sweden
Borås
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
sdougla2 wrote:
My understanding is that you can mix and match paying courage and stars for this ability.


That is how I have been playing it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Valadez
United States
Villa Park
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
"RAWR!" means "I love you" in kaiju.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sdougla2 wrote:
This can allow you to avoid losing specialists

Wow, this is new to me. So if I roll a 6 on the MFG or need to sacrifice a specialist to advance, with the hero I can just lose one courage instead?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mats Lintonsson
Sweden
Borås
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
sputang wrote:
sdougla2 wrote:
This can allow you to avoid losing specialists

Wow, this is new to me. So if I roll a 6 on the MFG or need to sacrifice a specialist to advance, with the hero I can just lose one courage instead?


No.

A 6 on the MGF would require you to pay 6 courage and/or stars, if you are using the Hero. Or for example, 3 regular soldiers, 2 stars and 1 courage (if you have the Hero).

When advancing into a sector with a sacrifice requirement, you still need to sacrifice the required specialist. The Hero cannot replace such loss.
2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Valadez
United States
Villa Park
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
"RAWR!" means "I love you" in kaiju.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mats77 wrote:
No.

A 6 on the MGF would require you to pay 6 courage and/or stars, if you are using the Hero. Or for example, 3 regular soldiers, 2 stars and 1 courage (if you have the Hero).

When advancing into a sector with a sacrifice requirement, you still need to sacrifice the required specialist. The Hero cannot replace such loss.

So the hero cannot save your sepecialist. Ok, that's what I thought. Omaha Beach has been my most played map so far and you're supposed to kill a speciailist if you roll a 6 on the MFG die. I wanted to make sure we were playing it right.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mats Lintonsson
Sweden
Borås
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
sputang wrote:
So the hero cannot save your sepecialist.


I believe Scott is referring to the rule in where you can choose to lose a Specialist instead of a Soldier, in the Combat phase (which you typically only do when you have ran out of "regular" Soldiers). Then you could instead choose to lose Stars/Courage (if you have the Hero).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.