Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Industria» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is your bid limited to talers or talers+resources? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin B. Smith
United States
Mercer Island
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules (English) say "A raw material may be cashed at any time in return for 1 Taler." I was thinking that meant that if you had 2 talers and a resource token, you could bid 3 talers, and then if you won the auction, you could then sell the resource tile to be able to pay your 3 talers. But if you lost the auction, you could keep the resource tile.

However, the section on bidding clearly says "You can only bid up to the number of Talers in your possession." That implies that before you bid 3, you would have to sell the resource tile.

So: Is it true that you can only bid up to your actual talers? Or can you bid a little higher by including your resource tokens, without cashing them in?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Burd
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You seem to have already found the answer.

You have to trade in the resource tile before bidding the taler it produces.

Presumably, because the value of the resource tile may change after a given auction concludes (and it adds a greater degree of decision-making and tension).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.