Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Virgin Queen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Nostradamus and discarding in ACTS; rule on discarding mandatories rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg Forster
United States
Pleasant Prairie
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
"When playing a game, the goal is to win, but it is the goal that is important, not the winning" - Dr. Reiner Knizia
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I seem to recall somewhere there's a ruling on how to handle Nostradamus in an ACTS game, where you can't shuffle the cards back into the deck. Where is that?

Also, I can't seem to find the rule that says you're not allowed to intentionally discard a mandatory event. Where is that? Or does VQ not have a situation where that would come up? (Not counting the play of Nostradamus in an ACTS game where you have to discard the excess cards you drew instead of shuffling them back in.)

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Greg: The updated Nostradamus is embedded into the card text in ACTS.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven
United States
Spokane
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
"The mystery of life isn't a problem to solve, but a reality to experience"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is only one card which cannot be discarded and that is Selim on Turn 2. You can discard mandatory events, or be forced to discard them.

Not sure about Nostradamus, I believe the card text is changed in ACTS?

EDIT: Ed is too fast.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
Here you are.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Forster
United States
Pleasant Prairie
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
"When playing a game, the goal is to win, but it is the goal that is important, not the winning" - Dr. Reiner Knizia
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for setting me straight!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.