Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Virgin Queen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some questions about land units formations rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Remo Galvan
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
1) In a legal space without Army Leaders is it possible to construct more than 4 land units ?

2) In a legal space with Army Leaders is it possible to construct more land units than allowed by their Command Rating ?

3) If I have a formation of 6 land units with an army leader with a Command Rating of 6 what happens if the army leader is assassinated ?

4) If in some way it is possible to have more than 4 land units without a leader what happens in the following situation:

- a formations of 6 units with an Army leader attacks an enemy formations of 6 units without a leader in a fortified space and a field battle occurs.

How many dice the defender rolls, 5 or 7 ?

- if the attacker scores 1 hit and the defender scores 0 hits, the attacker is the winner but the defender has 5 units left

It is possible for the defender to withdraw into fortification with 4 units and retreat with 1 unit ?

If it is not possible, it seems to me more favorable for the defender if the attacker scores 2 hits so the defender can withdraw into fortification ... so more losses is better ?

EDIT: modified the number of dice rolled (forgot the die for being the defender)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Carroll
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
Soli Deo Gloria!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes. There's no limit on how many units can be in a space, just how many can move as a formation.

2) Yes, ditto.

3) The formation is broken; you now just have 6 land units hanging out in the space.

4) The defender rolls one for each unit as usual, plus one for being defender. And I believe they can retreat some into the fortifications and the rest elsewhere.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Remo Galvan
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
spartax wrote:
4) The defender rolls one for each unit as usual, plus one for being defender. And I believe they can retreat some into the fortifications and the rest elsewhere.


But the rulebook on page 7 says:

Formations
A formation is a group of land units in a single space that functions as a combined entity for the purposes of movement, field battle, intercept, and assault. One or more army leaders may also be included
in the formation. The maximum number of land units in a formation
is dependent on the Command Rating of any leaders present:


Leaders Present Maximum Formation Size
none 4
1 Command Rating of leader
2 or more Sum of highest two command ratings


It seems that for a filed battle (but not only) the maximum formation size without a leader is 4, even if the units present are more that 4 (6 in my example).

How it is possible to roll 1 dice per unit, so 6 dice plus one for being defender ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven
United States
Spokane
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
"The mystery of life isn't a problem to solve, but a reality to experience"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Check out page 19 of the HIS Virgin Queen living rules which deals with field battles:

Quote:
3. Defender Adds Up Battle Dice: The intercepting player or the player with the stack of units in the destination space is always considered the defender in a field battle. The defender adds up the number of dice he will roll as follows:
• 1 die for each defending land unit in the space
• 1 die for each Battle Rating point from the highest-rated leader
in the defending force
• 1 die for being the defender.


The defender counts all units when he is defending, even if he does not have a leader to command them.

Formations are important when the active player has to move land units into an enemy space as the attacker. The defender can pile as many troops into a space as he wants.

EDIT: Durr... this is VQ. Fixing. Good thing it is the exact same rules.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Remo Galvan
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
SW_Cygnus wrote:
Check out page 19 of the HIS living rules which deals with field battles:

Quote:
3. Defender Adds Up Battle Dice: The intercepting player or the player with the stack of units in the destination space is always considered the defender in a field battle. The defender adds up the number of dice he will roll as follows:
• 1 die for each defending land unit in the space
• 1 die for each Battle Rating point from the highest-rated leader
in the defending force
• 1 die for being the defender.


The defender counts all units when he is defending, even if he does not have a leader to command them.

Formations are important when the active player has to move land units into an enemy space as the attacker. The defender can pile as many troops into a space as he wants.


Thanks for the reply.

But what's the meaning of the formation and its size limit during a field battle ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven
United States
Spokane
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
"The mystery of life isn't a problem to solve, but a reality to experience"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Formations are the way in which the current player can move troops: During the Spring Deployment phase a player can move one formation (limited by formation size) from his capital to another legal space

During the Action phase formation size is the maximum number of land units the "active player" (the player playing a card) can move.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SW_Cygnus wrote:
Formations are the way in which the current player can move troops: During the Spring Deployment phase a player can move one formation (limited by formation size) from his capital to another legal space

During the Action phase formation size is the maximum number of land units the "active player" (the player playing a card) can move.



Also formation size limits the number of troops that can assault a besieged fort or key, as well as the number of troops that can intercept a moving formation. But if the rule is interpreted the same way as HIS, ALL units in the space that is being attacked count as defending units.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven
United States
Spokane
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
"The mystery of life isn't a problem to solve, but a reality to experience"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great points Chris, I forgot that formation limitations can also affect interception attempts too.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.