Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

D-Day Dice» Forums » Rules

Subject: Special Find VS Military Medal? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anthony Reynolds
United States
Greenwood
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

I have seen on the Geek that it has been ruled that the Special Find RWB reward that lets you pay for and receive a used item is considered a modification of your normal 1 item purchase per turn and will not let you get 2 items in 1 turn. If this is the case then Does the benefit from the Award Card Military Medal, all units may recruit a Specialist for free, just modify your 1 recruit for the turn or will it allow you to gain 2 Specialists in 1 turn?

Thanks in advance!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
KnagrocK wrote:

I have seen on the Geek that it has been ruled that the Special Find RWB reward that lets you pay for and receive a used item is considered a modification of your normal 1 item purchase per turn and will not let you get 2 items in 1 turn. If this is the case then Does the benefit from the Award Card Military Medal, all units may recruit a Specialist for free, just modify your 1 recruit for the turn or will it allow you to gain 2 Specialists in 1 turn?

Thanks in advance!

You are always limited to 1 Item and 1 Specialist per turn. Unless it specifically states otherwise such as for awards. The medal is giving you your specialist for free and in addition to a normal purchase.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
ColtsFan76 wrote:
You are always limited to 1 Item and 1 Specialist per turn. Unless it specifically states otherwise. The medal is giving you your specialist for free. That is the "change" with this card.

How does this jibe with the penultimate sentence under Awards (page 6) in the rules which states When an Award card allows player to recruit a Specialist or find an Item, these never count toward the 1-per-turn limit.

Which award card does this text refer to for specialists if not the Military Medal?

I also believe that this rule allows the Legion D'Honneur to give one unit a free item in addition to its normal item purchase.
4 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pee di Moor
Netherlands
Rotterdam
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
KnagrocK wrote:

I have seen on the Geek that it has been ruled that the Special Find RWB reward that lets you pay for and receive a used item


Correction: the special find RWB does not let you pay for the item!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
RPardoe wrote:
ColtsFan76 wrote:
Unless it specifically states otherwise.

How does this jibe with the penultimate sentence under Awards (page 6) in the rules which states When an Award card allows player to recruit a Specialist or find an Item, these never count toward the 1-per-turn limit.

Which award card does this text refer to for specialists if not the Military Medal?

I also believe that this rule allows the Legion D'Honneur to give one unit a free item in addition to its normal item purchase.

Unless it specifically states otherwise. Over thought this one and didn't check the rules again before answering.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
moorwild wrote:
Correction: the special find RWB does not let you pay for the item!

Yes, it does. Check the part of the rules in parentheses under Special Find on Page 5 of the rules where it states b{you must still pay its cost in Item Point).

Or did I misunderstand what you were trying to say?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
ColtsFan76 wrote:
Unless it specifically states otherwise. Over thought this one and didn't check the rules again before answering.

Thanks. Thought I had missed something myself but couldn't find what. Looks like we are on the same page in terms of understanding.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
a valiant, pungent reindeer king
United States
Buffalo
New York
flag msg tools
Garfield
badge
Never trust a smiling Garfield!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RPardoe wrote:
moorwild wrote:
Correction: the special find RWB does not let you pay for the item!

Yes, it does. Check the part of the rules in parentheses under Special Find on Page 5 of the rules where it states b{you must still pay its cost in Item Point).

Or did I misunderstand what you were trying to say?


Yes, the rule says you still have to pay for it. Not that it pays for it with the RWB.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.