Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Betrayal at House on the Hill» Forums » Rules

Subject: Scenario 42- What if traitor has armor? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Boettcher
United States
Huber Heights
Ohio
flag msg tools
We turned the statue into a warrior with an Axe. The rules say when warrior statue attacks, it lowers the traitors Might by one point. In our game, the traitor had the armor card, which reduces one point of physical damage taken during an attack. So there is no way to damage the traitor in this situation? We were playing a friendly game with family, so the traitor agreed to discard the armor. Agree or should we have kept the card in play?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Strayer
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmb
OK, lost what I was originally posting. Short version: the Armor doesn't help the Traitor here, so xe could keep it. The Warrior simply weakens the Traitor, rather than damaging xyr.

The Armor reduces "physical damage", rather than any loss of Might or Speed. This came up in the errata. Here's the link: http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/faqs/hoth

The second point under "Item Cards" is the answer:
Quote:
Armor -- If something specifically states lose 1 speed (such as a room roll failure or an item side effect), is the armor able to prevent the damage?
No. The armor doesn't protect you from things that cause you to lose Might or Speed (such as a loathsome illness). It only protects you from things that do physical damage, such as combat. It also doesn't protect you from having other items stolen through combat if someone beats your roll by two or more.

Sorry to bring the bad news. Here's hoping all involved enjoyed the game anyway, since HotH's balance has been known to swing from game to game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Boettcher
United States
Huber Heights
Ohio
flag msg tools
Cool, that makes sense. Thanks! Yes, it was our first full game. Loved it!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.