BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Do It Yourself

Subject: Painting old metal miniatures vs. plastics rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul

Wisconsin
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have painted my Descent figures, some Marvel Handful of Heroes, and some Heroclix repaints. Obviously, all have been plastic and the results were pretty good.

However, I have a bunch of old metal miniatures from the D&D line from the late 70's that I am thinking of painting and since I have no experience with the metals, I am hoping someone can chime in.

My questions...

1. A few of the figures have paint jobs that were started. Since I was young, the quality isn't very high and I may start over on them. Is there a good way to strip the paint that will leave the metal underneath unaffected?

2. I know that washing for modern plastic minis is important to get off the mold chemicals. Is it necessary to wash old metal minis that have been in storage for 30 years? Is the procedure the same as with plastics (ie. warm soapy water)?

3. Any special primers to use for metals?

4. In general, is there anything unique about the vintage metals that is important to know? Can I go to any of the sites that talk about painting modern metal minis and have the information apply to the vintage ones?

Thanks.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Bame
United States
Flagstaff
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Simple Green and a lot of scrubbing will get the old paint off.
2. I would wash them the same way.
3. I use a spray can of auto-type primer
4. The really old lead miniatures (as opposed to newer pewter)may be hazardous to your healthy.
5. I am by no means an expert. whistle
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mb