Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

D-Day Dice» Forums » Rules

Subject: ANOTHER Utah Beach question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J P
United States
San Leandro
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, so I'm going to state my solo finish first, not as a brag but as the setup for my question: I finished Utah with most of the specialists (general, lieutenant, scout, corporal, minesweeper, captain, and a couple I don't remember), 58 soldiers,and most of the gear used up.

To be honest, I feel that I somehow must have cheated to finish that so well. The strategy was to advance past the beach-head and then switch back and forth between the two adjacent sectors, thereby mitigating my loss to 6 soldiers per turn (rather than increase the def if I had stayed in a given sector).... and all I did was camp out there till I had 60-something odd soldiers and a lot of specialists. Admittedly, I was rolling a lot of RWB's, esp for soldiers - but I was wondering if I was supposed to have advanced instead?

I checked the rulebook, but I think I translated that correctly.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Claus
Denmark
Sorø
flag msg tools
.. fan
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thatthing1999 wrote:
Okay, so I'm going to state my solo finish first, not as a brag but as the setup for my question: I finished Utah with most of the specialists (general, lieutenant, scout, corporal, minesweeper, captain, and a couple I don't remember), 58 soldiers,and most of the gear used up.

To be honest, I feel that I somehow must have cheated to finish that so well. The strategy was to advance past the beach-head and then switch back and forth between the two adjacent sectors, thereby mitigating my loss to 6 soldiers per turn (rather than increase the def if I had stayed in a given sector).... and all I did was camp out there till I had 60-something odd soldiers and a lot of specialists. Admittedly, I was rolling a lot of RWB's, esp for soldiers - but I was wondering if I was supposed to have advanced instead?

I checked the rulebook, but I think I translated that correctly.


Rules wrote:
A Unit can only move once per turn, and can never visit the same Sector
twice.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J P
United States
San Leandro
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OHHHH!!!! Thanks. THat I had forgotten about that detail =s Here's to losing gracefully. whistle
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pee di Moor
Netherlands
Rotterdam
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thatthing1999 wrote:
OHHHH!!!! Thanks. THat I had forgotten about that detail =s Here's to losing gracefully. whistle


I wouldn't call that a detail whistle
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blazing Apostle
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Put it down to lack of Training Marine hahahahahaha.I just tried Omaha again.Badly beaten...Again.blush
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Jenkins
Thailand
San Patong
Chiang Mai
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, once you depart a sector, you can't return with that unit. Once you advance, you can't go back.



2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.