Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Band of Brothers: Screaming Eagles» Forums » Rules

Subject: Moving out of melee rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bob
United States
Apollo Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
I feel like I should know the answer to this given how often I play but:

-After Melee I have a friendly squad and an enemy squad still sharing a hex (let's say they took no casualties).
-I know (I think) during the subsequent turn I can attempt to move out of that hex and run my squad to somewhere else, granted I'll take some serious op fire since I'll be adjacent and probably in the open.
-If, adjacent to this melee hex, there is an enemy squad, could I move out of my current hex that I share with an enemy and move into the adjacent hex with an enemy.
-If I did so I would not be able to take op fire since the enemy would be firing into a hex he/she has friendlies in.

I wanted to do this in a previous match because the adjacent enemy hex contained a squad that was more suppressed than the squad I was sharing a hex with.

Thanks in advance!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, but you can't do that:

Quote:
Units not marked as Used, that start in the same hex as an enemy unit may move out of it if otherwise able, but must first pass a Prof Check to do so. If successful, they may move normally, but may not move into a hex with another enemy unit in that move.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob
United States
Apollo Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Aha! Thanks, Jim!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonardo Martino
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jim Krohn wrote:
Sorry, but you can't do that:

Quote:
Units not marked as Used, that start in the same hex as an enemy unit may move out of it if otherwise able, but must first pass a Prof Check to do so. If successful, they may move normally, but may not move into a hex with another enemy unit in that move.


why?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonardo Martino
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kalevi1999 wrote:
Jim Krohn wrote:
Sorry, but you can't do that:

Quote:
Units not marked as Used, that start in the same hex as an enemy unit may move out of it if otherwise able, but must first pass a Prof Check to do so. If successful, they may move normally, but may not move into a hex with another enemy unit in that move.


why?


OK I see you quoted the rulebook.
is it allowed to do such thing:


(1) x

(2) x/o

3

4 o

o stand for friendly units
x for enemy units
1,2,3,4 are 4 aligned hexes (1 and 2 are building hexes)

Can unit in 4 move from 4 to 1 goin through 2,3. When enemy units in hexes 1 and 2 can fire at the moving unit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, the unit will have to stop in 2 because of the enemy unit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonardo Martino
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jim Krohn wrote:
No, the unit will have to stop in 2 because of the enemy unit.


can't the moving unit try proficiency test to reach 1?

you mean because of enemy unit in hex 1 or in hex 2?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The unit in 2. When you move into a hex with an enemy unit it ends your move.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.