Popular Tags: [View All]
Marc D
Canada
Toronto
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I am planning to buy my first go set. I am a beginner at the game, but I can't bring myself to buy a really cheap set - it may be a misguided drive to purchase something of higher quality when I am still so new to the game, but there it is! I don't want plastic or particle board, or press board. I went to check a set out in a Korean supermarket here in Toronto (particle board and plastic stones) and that added up to nearly $50. I'm after Yunzi stones with a real wood board. In fact, I see GoKGS, the online Go environment for playing people and bots as my introductory 'board'...

Anyway, here is the set that I am considering from Yellow Mountain Imports:

http://www.ymimports.com/p-1420-bamboo-34-go-reversible-boar...

$131.00

I really want the bi-convex stones, but I have heard they have a tendency to skitter across the slick bamboo surface. Does this sound like a valid concern? The other appeal of this board is the reversible 13x13 side. Shipping to Canada for this one is $70, but I would ship it to a friend in the States (free shipping) and have him bring it up the next time he visits.

The other set I'm considering is this one:

http://www.thegogamestore.com/go-game/go-sets/shin-kaya-3cm-...

$95.00

Shipping to Canada is $25 (plus customs fees, probably). This one is not reversible, and I know shin Kaya is not the same as Kaya, but it looks nice. There was one thread here on BGG about TheGoGameStore, but no one who responded had any experience with the company.

If anyone can comment on the shin kaya vs. bamboo board (or even YM Imports or TheGoGameStore) I'd appreciate it.

Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James W
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I picked up my Go set at the Pacific Mall, the one-stop Asian shopping experience!

I got a large double-sided particle board goban, two baskets of stones and about 340 stones for about $100.