Pierce Ostrander
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We have been playing that if a player (typically, the defender) has 1 disk and 2 blocks in a location, then he is forced to do a field battle.

In other words, he may not declare a siege because he has 3 blocks in the location (1 disk and 2 blocks = 3 "blocks").

Correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve E.
United States
Berkeley
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not correct.

I don't have the rules in front of me, but they specifically state that disks do not count against the castle stacking limit.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evil Bob
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
8.9.1 Sieges In General
When combat occurs in a location with a castle, it is possible that
one side will choose to remain inside the castle. If so, the combat
becomes a siege. For a force to remain inside the castle, it must own
the castle, and it must be two blocks or fewer. (Disks do not count
toward this limit.)
The side that owns the castle is the side that had
unit(s) in the location first (before combat broke out).

11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bohnenberger
United States
Swarthmore
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the only point of that disk is to make it harder to besiege the castle. I am 99% sure all three defend in the castle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonardo Martino
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1copse wrote:
Not correct.

I don't have the rules in front of me, but they specifically state that disks do not count against the castle stacking limit.


yep!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Treadway
United States
Sterling
Virginia
flag msg tools
And if the disk is left alone in the castle, there still must be a siege (and an infliction of at least one casualty) for the opponent to take that castle, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stavros G.
Belgium
Brussels
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
toddtreadway wrote:
And if the disk is left alone in the castle, there still must be a siege (and an infliction of at least one casualty) for the opponent to take that castle, correct?


Yes, correct.
And to be thorough about this, if the Uesegi disk is lost in a siege, Ishida's player does not draw a card for it - you draw a card for losing a block in a siege.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.