Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Quarriors! Rise of the Demons» Forums » Rules

Subject: Corrupted Primordial Ooze Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Val Cassotta
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
So, when you score with a CPO, it says you also gain a corrupted quiddity from the wilds, after you've culled this turn.

The question that came up in our game is if this meant you only gain the Corrupted Quiddity die if you Culled, or did you automatically gain the Corrupted Quiddity regardless of the Culling action?

Essentially, did they phrase it that way to prevent a player from collecting and then culling that die (not that you would want to)?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevin Beattie
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Val, your interpretation is correct. The exact wording is:

Quote:
When Primordial Ooze scores, you gain 1 Corrupted Quiddity die from the Wilds (after you have culled).


You may choose to cull a die after scoring (rules p. 8). Gaining a Corrupted Quiddity is mandatory, and the parenthetical text is meant to clarify that you may not cull the Corrupted Quiddity that you gain when Primordial Ooze scores.

But don't think of this so much as a curse. Remember:

Quote:
Primordial Ooze scores +1 Glory for each Corrupted Quiddity die in your Used Pile.


So for this particular creature, you want Corrupted Quiddity. (Just not too much.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevin Beattie
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Neverbuy wrote:
With the "advanced" rules would you not get it unless you scored and culled said ooze?


The "Totally Expert Rule of Culling" stipulates:

Quote:
When you score a die, you can only cull the die that scored and you can only score the glory for that die if you cull it.


So under this optional rule, you are correct — if you don't cull the Ooze, it doesn't score, and if it doesn't score you don't get Corrupted Quiddity from it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.