Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Lords of Scotland» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is power activation mandatory rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
joey twoshoes
msg tools
mbmb
Can you play a card and not activate it's power even if it is the lowest card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew
United States
Winona
MN
flag msg tools
Yes.

A- You don't have to play a card face up, so no. If you don't want it's power, just play it face down.

B- However, if you want to block others from using powers on higher cards, the rules state "may" rather than "must", meaning no, you don't have to use the power.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klure Junior
United States
Oceanside
California
flag msg tools
Essssssss Teeeeee EYE!
badge
My Dog Abi
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The real question is why would you not use the power?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. Riddell
United States
Webster
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are several times when you want to show a card, but not activate it. You might show a low card to stop others from activating powers.

You might choose not to activate it if you ...
...don't want to switch cards with another player
...don't want to switch cards with one of the supporters
...don't want to retain a card for the next round (because it might ruin your plans to double your cards values)
...don't want to draw cards because you are at or near the hand limit
...don't want to discard another card (especially if you are the only player to play cards as of yet)
...don't want to muster another clan if you'd rather hold on to your cards (because it would mean you'd have to muster a different clan or if you would rather hold on to the cards because they are unnecessary to win the skirmish)
...don't want to copy one of the above powers

I can't think of any reason why you wouldn't want to activate two supporters or to join another bloodline.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.