Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Summoner Wars: Master Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can opponent walls spawn units onto Vine Walls? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
I know you as Swamp Orcs can't spawn units directly onto vine walls -- but what about if an opponent has an adjacent well, can he drop his unit on your vine wall? Assume no because the rules don't seem to except this, but wanted to make sure.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ferejohn
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Pitying fools as hard as I can...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Units can only be summoned in empty spaces. Spaces with vine walls are not empty.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wally Jones
United States
Windermere
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe you can since the Vine Wall does not "fill" the space.

The space the Vine Wall is on is treated as open for movement. It just causes issues moving through it or staying on it.

For that reason, I would say an opponent could spawn on the Vine Wall, but would suffer all the negative issues with moving off and/or staying in the space.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Berger
United States
Round Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rygel wrote:
I believe you can since the Vine Wall does not "fill" the space.


No.

ferejohn wrote:
Units can only be summoned in empty spaces. Spaces with vine walls are not empty.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Trammell
United States
Benton
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
More specifically, the vine wall says "units cannot be summoned onto vinewalls". That's the ruling.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Tom Casual of Orange Nebula
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sethy295 wrote:
More specifically, the vine wall says "units cannot be summoned onto vinewalls". That's the ruling.

Haha. This.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Meyer
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So here's a related question: if a unit is "placed" (i.e. deep dwarves "illusionary warrior") can it be put into play on a vine wall? not sure how to interpret this since it isn't technically a summoning...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Stout
United States
Annandale
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jefimeyerhoff wrote:
So here's a related question: if a unit is "placed" (i.e. deep dwarves "illusionary warrior") can it be put into play on a vine wall? not sure how to interpret this since it isn't technically a summoning...

Yes, as long as it is adjacent to a DD Champion or Gem Mage.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carthoris Pyramidos
United States
Centennial
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But I think some events or abilities to "place" specify an "empty space" as the destination, and in that case, it couldn't be on a vine wall.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.