Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Swarm» Forums » Rules

Subject: Whale movement and end-game tie breaking rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pete S
United States
MACUNGIE
PA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
We looked through the rule book carefully for this, but didn't find it. When a whale is moved, can it, like the boats, double back on itself, and if so, can a single boat be hit multiple times as a result? We allowed this to happen, as a boat can only get hit a max of 2 times per whale movement, but we were unsure if this was intended.

On a different note, the game ended with two players tied, yet we couldn't find anything in the rules about tie breakers. Does anyone know if there is an official one, or otherwise a good house-ruled one?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alkis Moraitis
Australia
Sydney Olympic Park
NSW
flag msg tools
designer
We gotta get out while we 're young, `cause tramps like us, baby we were born to run...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Pete,

For the 1st question, no you cannot visit a space twice in the movement of the whale and of course you cannot end up on the starting space. But you can travel less squares than the total allowed. This is in the paragraph above the whale card explaining dangers in general.

No official answer for the tie breaker.

Our house rule: the winner is the player having the least buoys on hand, which means he got same points as the other using less buoys => more effective.

If still tied, winner is the player that has lowest number on their priority card.

Cheers
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete S
United States
MACUNGIE
PA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Thanks very much for the info! I guess we were only looking in the sections directly pertaining to whales, which is why we missed that ruling.

Good call on the tie-breaker concept - we'll definitely employ that in the future.

Happy gaming!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.