Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eren Koyunoglu
Turkey
Istanbul
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dear wargamers,

I am fairly new to wargaming. I have a couple of games and will start playing them soon. I played Paths of Glory (which is a fantastic game but it was very hard to get the rules down at first), but no other ones. Which one should I start first and which ones later? Can you share your experiences?
I have Combat Commander Europe and Pacific, Command and Colors Ancients, Conflict of Heroes Storm of Steel and Twilight Struggle (I am not sure if it counts as a wargame). This weekend I will be getting Thunderbolt/Apache Leader, Fighting Formations: Grossdeutschland and No Retreat! The Russian Front so they are on the list too.

Thank you
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thom0909
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe you can just choose the one game you most want play. None is super basic, but you have at least 3-4 that are more light than heavy (not sure about Fighting Formations).
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Björn Hansson
Sweden
Bromma
Stockholm
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmb
ErenKoyunoglu wrote:
This weekend I will be getting Thunderbolt/Apache Leader, Fighting Formations: Grossdeutschland and No Retreat! The Russian Front so they are on the list too.

These titles are bringing you into the jungle for real. Not deep into the jungle, but definitely in there.

In my opinion: You need to pay a longer visit to the hex-and-counter land in order to get a proper wargaming experience and to infuse yourself with some classic wargaming culture.

The Gamers' Standard Combat Series* is an easy way in. All the classic stuff is here: CRTs, ZOCs, Overruns, supply, different weapon types. All presented in a fairly simple and straight forward manner. If you've grasped the different concepts in a few SCS games you are ready to tackle virtually ANY wargame. You will be familiar with the terminology and rules will become quite intuitive.