Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Small World» Forums » Rules

Subject: Seafaring question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: Redundant [+] Seafaring [+] [View All]
Prime Time
United States
New Plymouth
Idaho
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So when you use the seafaring ability, in the rules, it states to treat it as 3 empty regions. Does this mean:
1. It costs 6 tokens to acquire?
2. You get 3 victory coins per round per water area conquered?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
3 separate regions each conquered from a region adjoining the one you attack. They are not one region of size 3.

Each costs 2 tokens. Each gives 1 coin per turn.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Quote:
As long as your Seafaring race is active, you
may conquer the Seas and the Lake,
considering them as 3 empty Regions. You
keep these Regions even once you go into
Decline, and continue scoring for them for
as long as you have tokens there. Only Seafaring races may
occupy the Seas and the Lake.



Notice how there is 3 water regions on the map. Don't you think it would make sense both thematically and in the rules that it just means you can consider the Seas and the Lake as empty Regions for conquering (2 units + 1 for defense)?

Word of advice. Rules are usually pretty clear. If they actually intended for you to get bonus points/need more units for each region they would simply say that than bury it behind a confusing definition.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Mack
United States
Menifee
California
flag msg tools
designer
Lefty / Happily Married / Parent of 2 Girls / Christian / Yucata User
badge
Smack dat Ghoulie, Mr. Trolla!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow! Whadya know this EXACT SAME QUESTION has been asked & answered before on these forums!

(But who doesn't prefer a cluttered forum full of redundant threads over a few minutes of using the "search" feature?)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.