Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Blade of Gondolin valid attack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Blade of Gondolin (core set 39) states: (...) Response: After attached hero attacks and destroys an enemy, place 1 progress token on the current quest.

Am I right, that it doesn't matter for granting the progress token, if the wearer of the Blade of Gondolin attacked alone, together with other characters or even assisting with ranged, as long as all other conditions are met?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Herr Untergeher
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You are absolutely correct. Putting the blade on ranged characters makes it even more versatile.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Brennan
Australia
St Ives, Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed, otherwise it'd have "alone" somewhere in the effect text like Mirkwood Runner does.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian @BoardGameMonster
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Basically you want Legolas to have two of these so he can dual wield... whilst shooting his invisible bow
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Steinbach
United States
Forest Grove
Oregon
flag msg tools
boardgamemonster wrote:
Basically you want Legolas to have two of these so he can dual wield... whilst shooting his invisible bow

The Bow may be invisible in that setup, but his Hands should still be Upon it cool
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Herr Untergeher
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just as a side note: Since the effect of the blade is a "response" you can decide whether you want to use it or not. (Just in case you aren't quite ready to proceed to the next quest stage...)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Dodge
United States
PACIFIC PALISADES
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Side question, excess progress tokens are lost when completing a quest correct? But what if two of these are in play, and one token is needed to complete the current quest? Since it is two response actions, can one complete the current quest, and the second provide the 1st token on the next quest?

Thanks,
RJD
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
No No No Sheep
Russia
St Petersburg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rjdodge wrote:
Side question, excess progress tokens are lost when completing a quest correct? But what if two of these are in play, and one token is needed to complete the current quest? Since it is two response actions, can one complete the current quest, and the second provide the 1st token on the next quest?

Thanks,
RJD


If you have an active Location, progress tokens are placed there instead of the current Quest card (official FAQ v1.1).If Legolas completes a Quest card then this Response can place additional tokens on the next quest card, or vice-versa (if the quest only needs one progress token to be completed, you'd want to trigger this event first and then trigger Legolas's ability second (official FAQ v1.1).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.